Santa Claus

Like I wrote in my last entry, I spent Christmas Eve in the Inner Harbor area of Baltimore. On my way back I decided to stop by in my old hometown of Glen Burnie, Maryland because someone had posted a gif in one of the Facebook groups I belong to about a home that, based on the words in that gif, sounds like something that’s incredibly over the top. So I took the light rail from Baltimore back to North Linthicum (where my car was parked) then I drove towards Glen Burnie until I found Delmar Avenue. I kept on driving until I found this.

photo1

This house really stood out from all of the other well-lit homes in the area. In fact, this house stood out so much that it even made the local newspaper. There’s also a Facebook page dedicated to this home.

photo2

photo3

photo4

photo5

photo6

photo7

photo8

photo9

photo10

photo11

photo12

photo13

photo14

photo15

photo16

photo17

photo18

photo19

photo20

photo21

ThereĀ was a special mailbox where children could deposit their letters to Santa Claus.

photo22

photo23

ThereĀ wasĀ a box where donations wereĀ accepted. Given the amount of electricity needed to pull something like this off, I’d hate to see their January electric bill.

photo24

Mickey Mouse rides on a toy train around a lit Christmas tree display.

photo25

photo26

They had a snow-making machine that would periodically blow snowflakes into the air. Sometimes the snow would land on the ground but most of the flakes just melted (especially since, at the time I visited, the weather was an unusually balmy 70 degrees Fahrenheit).

photo27

photo28

There was an animated laser light show that was displayed on the garage door.

photo29

photo30

photo31

There was even a sign telling visitors that they can tune their car radios to 107.1 FM in order to hear a simulcast of the music that was playing.

photo32

I’ve seen plenty of overdecorated homes in my time but I have to say that this one really takes the cake.