For the past few months I’ve been taking part in the Saturday afternoon drop-in art workshops at The Space. Sometimes there is an organized workshop (such as button making) while other times there’s nothing formal but you can pick up some art supplies and make whatever you want. One Saturday I did a drawing of two fighting dragons.

The dragons were done in ink while the background was done in watercolor. I picked dragons because this year happens to be the Year of the Dragon plus the upcoming Greenbelt Green Man Festival was having a dragon-themed festival this year. I also decided to do some kind of a subtle symbolic thing where I did one dragon with the colors of the Russian flag and the other in the colors of the Ukrainian flag to show that there is still an incredibly devastating war that’s still going on in that part of the world over two years later.