I’ve been taking drop-in art workshops that are being offered on Saturday afternoons at The Space in Greenbelt, Maryland. I decided to do something experimental where I did art using a mix of markers and construction paper. So here is my piece, which I call The Purple Cow.

I made the cow using purple and brown construction paper that I drew then cut out using scissors. I used a brown marker for the hooves, nostrils, eyes, and the hairy details on the cow’s tail. I used green construction paper for the ground. I was going to use construction paper using the sky but I couldn’t find any blue paper so I ended up coloring the sky with a blue marker. For the flowers and butterflies, I used pink and yellow construction paper with paper punchers then glued them on the ground. I liked the results and others who were in that workshop like it as well.

Doing this mostly paper collage is such a throwback to the kind of art that I used to do as a child, such as Indian Chief and Owl Collage. It felt like I was reliving my childhood art class in school, which was pretty cool. Taking art classes is one of the few positive memories I have of my school years so I don’t mind at all.