I so much walking and picture taking around Baltimore on the Saturday after Thanksgiving that I had to break it up into multiple posts. Here is what happened. I decided to check out the Christkindlesmarkt that was held at Zion Lutheran Church. I left around 1 p.m. but the traffic going northbound was awful. It took me way longer to even reach the city than usual. I managed to make it to the North Linthicum light rail stop then switched at Lexington Market to the Metro subway stop. While I was on my way to the Metro subway stop, I took a couple of pictures.

This sign announced that I was in “The Bromo.” I know that the Bromo Seltzer clock tower is in the general area (except it’s located south of Lexington Market) but I had never heard of anyone referring to that area as “The Bromo” before I saw this sign. But someone has officially dubbed it as so.

I also saw that someone had started something called the Baltimore Star Walk, which is supposed to highlight native Baltimoreans who have had successful careers. (It’s like the famed Hollywood Walk of Fame.) John Waters was the only star I found in the Lexington Market area.

The entire area around Lexington Market was once a very thriving shopping district. Based on the few youthful memories I have of actually visiting that place with my mother (my parents weren’t too keen about taking any shopping trips to Baltimore when I was growing up in Glen Burnie), I remember that there were stores around Lexington Market. These days many of these storefronts are boarded up (even though Lexington Market itself is still going strong). Despite the boarded up dreariness of the area, someone has attempted to wrap red ribbons around the light poles in an attempt to make the area look more Christmas festive.

So I made my way to the Metro station where I had a long wait. (This was on top of having to wait through the highway traffic jams.) I was eventually able to ride a subway to the Shot Tower stop. Here’s a photo of the Shot Tower itself on a very cloudy day.

Near the Shot Tower is the Baltimore City Fraternal Order of Police memorial.

I saw a billboard in the distance announcing the imminent arrival of legalized medical marijuana in Maryland.

Here are some trees with their full fall colors.

I briefly walked past a few other Baltimore landmarks.

I also came upon the Baltimore Heritage Walk markers embedded in the sidewalk. I saw them every few feet in both English and a variety of different languages.

So I eventually made it to the Zion Lutheran Church then I went on to the Christmas Village in Baltimore and visited the Inner Harbor.