Man, the weather has really been variable on this trip. It has gone from rainy to blistering heat to more rain. My back has adjusted accordingly. If it is going to rain, my back tends to hurt worse. But once it rains, my back feels normal.

When I woke up yesterday morning my back was aching a lot. It was very cloudy outside and the ground was wet from the rain the night before. We were wavering as to whether to even go down to the beach or not. I went on a few errands after breakfast and, while I was out, the weather became very sunny and it turned really hot and humid. I took a few photos while I on these errands in both the northern part of Ocean City and Fenwick Island, Delaware.

Happy Harry’s was a chain of pharmacies that was prevelant throughout the Delmarva area until Walgreen’s took over the chain a few years ago and converted the bulk of them to Walgreen’s. This Happy Harry’s store in Fenwick Island, Delaware is one of the last of the pharmacies that still has the Happy Harry’s name and logo. Even though this store carries bags that has the Walgreen’s name and it carries a number of Walgreen store brands, the store is still known as Happy Harry’s. I don’t know how much longer it will be known as Happy Harry’s so I decided to take a few photos of it for posterity (I’ll admit that the drawing of Happy Harry reminds me a lot of comedian Drew Carey.)

Happy Harry's
Happy Harry's

On the way back to the condo, I decided to treat myself to ice cream from Dumser’s Dairyland on 124th Street in Ocean City. Next to that ice cream parlor is something I have never seen in Ocean City before—an abandoned mini-golf course. For those of you who have never been to Ocean City, I’ll say that this place is loaded with all kinds of mini-golf courses with a variety of themes ranging from dinosaurs to pirates to vikings. Miniature golf is probably the second biggest thing to do right behind going to the beach. Normally min-golf courses are very profitable businesses, which is why I found it jarring that there was an abandoned course. I guess the ever-worsening economy is a factor in this particular golf course being closed permanently.

Abandoned Mini-Golf Course, Ocean City, Maryland
Abandoned Mini-Golf Course, Ocean City, Maryland

These space aliens wait in vain to greet miniature golf players who don’t visit anymore.

Abandoned Mini-Golf Course, Ocean City, Maryland

One mini-golf course is closed but another mini-golf course opens for the first time this season. I saw this place under construction last year and it is now completed. This one is located close to my condo so, after dinner, I decided to check it out. This mini-golf course is an indoor course, which is great for those rainy days. It also has a small arcade complete with an air hockey table.

Indoor Mini-Golf and Arcade, Ocean City, Maryland

This indoor course is really big. It has a jungle theme and, as you can see, it’s a very elaborate course.

Indoor Mini-Golf Course and Arcade, Ocean City, Maryland

After I checked out the indoor mini-golf course, I drove by the Fenwick Island Lighthouse located near the Delaware state line. This lighthouse hasn’t been used to help boats in decades but it still gets lit up at night.

Fenwick Island lighthouse at night

The weather has veered between rain and hot and humid so much that we weren’t sure whether we would go to the beach that day or not. In the late afternoon, my husband and I decided to try the beach because it became very sunny, hot, and humid. (My sister-in-law opted to do some shopping instead.) By the time we put our suits on and smeared suntan lotion over the exposed parts of our body, the clouds returned. We decided to go to the beach anyway and we managed to get a brief swim in the ocean. (I still stayed in the shallow end. It was just as well because the waves were a bit on the rough side.) We hung around on the beach (I was still using the tall chair from the balcony of my rented condo) reading our books for a while until we felt raindrops. We managed to get an hour’s worth of beach time despite the crazy weather, which wasn’t bad considering the circumstances.