A few weeks ago I went to the latest Dr. Sketchy’s Anti-Art School event in Baltimore, where I shot this promo that was posted in the window of The Wind-Up Space (where the event was held).


Burlesque performer GiGi Holliday was the model for this event so some of the drawings in this post are definitely NSFW.

At one point GiGi Holliday changed into this really colorful traffic light-themed costume, which I tried to faithfully sketch in the drawing below.

I took part in two of the contests that took place that night. GiGi Holliday was still wearing her traffic costume so the contest involved GiGi stopping traffic. I decided to have her sit on a traffic cone while blocking the presidential limo that is carrying the straw-haired and orange-skinned President Donald Trump as he shakes his tiny fisted hand and screams “I’m the President of the United States! Don’t make me grab your pussy! I’ll attack you on Twitter if you don’t leave! Sad!”

That drawing not only made it among the finals but I won after the other attendees clapped the loudest for my drawing! I was especially thrilled! As for the prizes, I received a drawing pad and a small pack of drawing pencils, which you can see in the next photo that I shot a day or two after Dr. Sketchy’s.

Coming on the heels of that victory, I decided to take part in another contest that happened immediately after the previous one. For this one we had to do a beach-themed drawing with GiGi in it. I began to draw on my memories of the time my then-husband and I went to Bermuda over 10 or so years ago and we spent time on the beach with the pink sand. I threw in a seagull, a jumping dolphin, a coconut tree, and a cruise ship.

Unlike the last contest, this one failed to make it among the finalists. I wasn’t too angry or bitter because I was still in that post-victory glow from winning the previous contest. Besides, it’s like what the old saying goes: You can’t win them all.

I drew one more picture of GiGi Holliday before the event ended and it was time for me to go home.

