February has been unusually warm this year with temperatures reaching as high as the low 70’s. I find myself enjoying this unusually early spring-like weather even though it’s just another symptom of the climate change that this planet is currently going through. Presidents’ Day was sunny in the low 70’s with low humidity. I decided to take advantage of the holiday and the nice weather by walking around in the historic area of Riverdale Park.

The next few photos show Calvert Memorial Park, which serves as the final resting place for the descendants of the original Lord Baltimore (who founded Maryland) who settled in Riverdale Park.

photo1

photo2

photo3

photo4

photo5

This light pole in the center of town has some hanging baskets that already have blooming flowers in them.

photo6

Maybelle L. Munch Park, located in the center of town, is so small that it only has one bench to sit on but it still looks nice.

photo7

Here is the Armed Forces Memorial.

photo8

photo9

photo10

photo11

photo12

I stopped by Town Center Market which is a combination wine store/pub/snack shop. It has this really cool wall mural in one corner of the store.

photo13

The store has this f’real blending bar where you can mix your own milkshakes. First you go to the freezer on the right and select what flavor of milkshake you want.

photo14

Then you remove the foil top, stick the milkshake in the blender on the left, and select desired milkshake thickness. Then you get to watch as the machine mixes the milkshake the way you want it.

photo15

Then you take the milkshake to the counter and pay for it. Now you’re free to enjoy your milkshake.

photo16

I walked past the historic Riversdale Mansion, which was originally a full-scale plantation that was owned by the Calvert family who were descendants of the original Lord Baltimore and who are also buried in the Calvert Memorial Park that I mentioned earlier in this post. I was there last year for a special drawing event, which was fun. At that point its gardens were in full bloom but the weather went up to the high 90’s with matching high humidity that day so I didn’t stay too long outdoors. If it weren’t for the fact that it’s February, I would’ve checked out the gardens but I know that there would still be nothing to see this time of the year despite the warmer than usual weather. I basically just walked past Riversdale Mansion on this trip.

photo17

photo18

photo19

photo20

photo21

I briefly stopped by the Northeast Branch Trail, which runs along the Northeast Branch of the Anacostia River. This path is also part of the East Coast Greenway.

photo22

photo23

photo24

I saw some painted storm drains during my walk.

photo25

photo26

photo27

The rest of the pictures I took included some cool looking houses and other interesting sights I saw while I walked through Riverdale Park.

photo28

photo29

photo30

photo31

photo32

photo33

