I attended my first Dr. Sketchy’s Anti-Art School event of 2017 in Baltimore. I walked around the Station North Arts District a bit before I headed to The Wind-Up Space.

There’s a one-time movie theater known as The Centre, which is located just a few doors down from The Wind-Up Space whose art deco architecture is eye-catching. Recently that old theater has been renovated into an arts center. The Center really looks nice when it’s lit up at night.

photo1

photo2

photo3

photo4

photo5

photo6

I walked into The Wind-Up Space where I noticed that, even though the Christmas holiday season ended a few days ago, that place still had a Christmas tree up. I couldn’t resist taking a few pictures of that tree because it’s mostly loaded with Krampus ornaments (with the exception of a VHS version of Willie Wonka & The Chocolate Factory that was hung on the tree).

photo7

photo8

photo9

photo10

photo11

photo12

photo13

photo14

photo15

The model for this event was a burlesque performer named KiKi Allure and some of the drawings I did in this post are definitely NSFW.

picture1

picture2

picture3

picture4

picture5

picture6

picture7

picture8

picture9

picture10

I took part in two of the contests that were held that evening. One of them was where we had to come up with some graffiti. I couldn’t resist invoking that infamous recording of Donald Trump where he bragged about how he grabs women by the pussy. (And that’s not to mention that he was still elected President of the United States despite all that.) By the way that phone number I wrote is real—it’s for the White House switchboard. That drawing was among the finalists but I didn’t win.

picture11

The other contest I took part in was where we had to somehow incorporate both Elvis Presley and David Bowie because their birthdays are in January. (Of course this month is the one-year anniversary of David Bowie’s death and it was also the same day that I went to another Baltimore Dr. Sketchy’s event.) I decided to have the two men do a dance-off in a battle for KiKi Allure. I modeled Elvis after his role in the film Jailhouse Rock while I modeled Bowie after his androgynous glamour rock phase back in the early 1970’s. This drawing also made the finals but I didn’t win.

picture12

I did one last drawing of KiKi Allure before the event ended and I headed home.

picture13

