The opening ceremony for the Festival of Lights happened just a few days earlier, which led the way for the biggest event of this festival: The Festival of Lights Arts & Crafts Show. This is among the events I make an effort to attend each year because I always run into at least two or more friends and I usually find at least one present to give to someone. This year was no exception.

The arts and crafts show runs the entire weekend but I was only able to attend the second and final day. In some ways the second day is better because it ties in with the last Greenbelt Farmers Market of the year before it goes on the winter hiatus until May. I managed to take this picture of some really nicely decorated Christmas decorations that were painted gourds.

Festival of Lights Arts and Crafts Show, Greenbelt, Maryland, December 4, 2016

I saw these nice instruments that were handmade from wood. They were made and sold by Roussell Family Arts.

Festival of Lights Arts and Crafts Show, Greenbelt, Maryland, December 4, 2016

These watercolors were made by Mary Ann Lipovsky, whose workshops I’ve taken in the past when she held them at Makerspace 125. (She told me that there’s a chance that she may start up those workshops at Makerspace 125 again sometime next year.)

Festival of Lights Arts and Crafts Show, Greenbelt, Maryland, December 4, 2016

You can view more of her work here and here.

I also visited my good friend, Tina Van Pelt, who’s a fused glass artist. She surprised me with this gift of a fused glass piece that could be worn as either a pin or a pendant. (She gave it to me as a special “thank you” for helping her out with a few things.) She’s been making fused glass American flags interspersed with safety pins as part of the new trend of wearing safety pins that have taken root since Donald Trump’s election last month. A portion of the proceeds from the sale of this special line will go to the ACLU.

Festival of Lights Arts and Crafts Show, Greenbelt, Maryland, December 4, 2016

You can view more of her work through her business, Profusions of Glass.

I purchased this soap as a Christmas present for my mother. (I’m comfortable with mentioning it here before Christmas because she’s not on the Internet at all.) It’s shaped like a popsicle complete with a wooden stick.

Festival of Lights Arts and Crafts Show, Greenbelt, Maryland, December 4, 2016

I think she’ll get a kick out of it. Unfortunately I didn’t get any business cards from the booth where I purchased this soap so I can’t provide any information about the person who made and sold this.

There were more booths at this year’s event but those were the only photos I took because I was more focused on shopping and socializing with friends.

