Lately I’ve been spending some time at the state-run Maryland Workforce Exchange in pursuit of a new day job that would pay the bills. After one frustrating day that left me a bit stressed out, I headed over to the nearby Historic Main Street district to chill out. This area is probably my favorite part of Laurel because all the stores on that street are locally owned and the Victorian-era homes located on the side streets are pretty nice to look at as well.

photo1

The one store in that area that always catches my eye is the Laurel Meat Market, a locally-owned food market.

photo2

That store is well-known for having a giant steer statue outside its door.

photo3

photo4

One of the other local stores had this fancy Christmas display in its window that looked pretty nice.

photo5

