I did my regular pilgrimage to Behnke’s Nurseries during the holiday shopping season. I took a few new photos but the special Christmas shop is pretty much the same as it was in other years when I took a lot more photos in 2012, 2013, 2014, and 2015.

photo1

photo2

photo3

photo4

photo5

photo6

photo7

photo8

The one thing that caught my interest is that there seems to be a slight expansion in its line of Hanukkah decorations. The store have always sold Hanukkah ornaments for Hanukkah bushes, such as the one in the next photo.

photo9

But this year was the first year that I’ve seen actual Star of David tree toppers. I’ve long heard about some Jewish families in the U.S. who keep decorated Hanukkah bushes in their homes but I also know that it’s not a universally accepted tradition. (I remember the times when my ex-husband’s Orthodox Jewish stepmother used to criticize Hanukkah bushes because, to her, they were “too Christian” and it encouraged Jews to blend in too much with Gentiles instead of remaining separate and celebrating their own traditions. Even though my father-in-law converted to Orthodox Judaism before he married his second wife, I also knew that she would have never tolerated him doing anything that even slightly harked back to the days when he used to observe Christmas.) This is the first time I’ve ever heard of a Hanukkah tree complete with tree toppers.

photo10

photo11

