talkingdonaldtrumpphotoforweb

I found this action figure in a local Staples of all places several years ago. I purchased it as a gag gift for my then-husband sometime during the first or second season of The Apprentice (which would’ve been around 2004 or 2005). I had no idea that one day he would actually run for president, much less even fathom the idea that one day he would really become the president-elect. (If only I had a time machine, I would’ve gone back to my past self and tell myself to either keep the doll in the box or purchase a second doll and leave that one in the box. I would go to great lengths to tell my past self that having a boxed doll will be really valuable one day even if my past self would probably laugh at the absurd-sounding idea of Donald Trump actually being elected President of the United States.)

My husband and I took him out of the box and we discarded the box. We both laughed as we pushed the button on the back and listened to him say stuff like “You’re fired!” and “Have an ego. There’s nothing wrong with ego.”

A few years later I wrote a poem called “Trump.” This was back in 2011 when Donald Trump was hinting that he would run for president. I performed it live on Poetry Night a few times at a local cafe and it got a lot of laughs each time I did this. Later that year I did a video version of it where I used that talking Donald Trump action figure.

When my husband left me in late 2011, he left the action figure behind. A few days ago I finally got around to making a video that demonstrates both his talking abilities and his articulated joints. (He is able to achieve relatively realistic poses because he has joints at the neck, shoulders, arms, wrists, leg, knees, and ankles.) Here’s the video below. Have fun with this one!

