One day I was feeling a bit antsy about things so I decided to just go to one of the many local parks in my area and just chill. I decided to head to Bladensburg Waterfront Park just a couple of hours before it closed for the day.

photo1

American history buffs would know that this peaceful park was once the site of the Battle of Bladensburg, which was one of the big battles of the War of 1812. There are plenty of reminders of that incident throughout the park.

photo2

photo3

photo4

photo5

photo6

As for me I was more interested in the nature, which included lots of fall foliage as it reflected off the Anacostia River.

photo7

photo8

photo9

photo10

There’s an interesting mushroom graffiti that someone drew along the bridge that formed the outer perimeter of the park.

photo11

A walkathon was schedule in the park for the following day where the proceeds would benefit groups that were fighting hunger and homelessness. The walking path was full of chalk writings that mentioned some distressing facts about being poor in the Washington, DC metropolitan area.

photo12

At one point I hiked outside the park where I walked past the historic yet controversial Peace Cross.

photo13

Here’s the start of the evening rush hour traffic along Route 450 outside the gates of Bladenburg Waterfront Park.

photo14

Here’s the memorial dedicated to those who lost their lives in the terrorist attacks on September 11, 2001. There are a few benches available for quiet mediation and reflection as the cars go whizzing past by on Route 450.

photo15

I managed to get back inside the park so I could retrieve my car just before the park closed for the day. I saw a group of rowers packing up their long rowboats.

photo16

The fading sunlight provides a nice glow to these feathery plants.

photo17

I’ll end this post with a couple of sunset photos.

photo18

photo19

