Previous in This Series

The First Video
The Second Video
The Third Video

For the past few weeks I’ve been uploading DIY tutorial videos showing how one can take a Barbie doll (especially the Made to Move Barbie) and customize her into the Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, Marvel Comics’ fun-loving superhero who has gotten a sizable following (especially among young girls).

The first three videos focused on selecting the doll, changing her hairstyle, and sewing her clothes. By the end of the third video I had the doll about 80% finished. This last video goes into the steps that needed in order to finish this project. I made her felt boots from a pattern but I had to totally wing it when it came to the headband and squirrel tail since there were no such patterns available (especially for 1/6 scale dolls like Barbie).

photo1

The video shows how I did it while also going into how I managed to find a tiny squirrel as a stand-in for Squirrel Girl’s closest squirrel companion, Tippy-Toe.

photo2

Here’s the video. I’ll provide links to the relevant sites below it.

ChellyWood.com’s free felt boot pattern and instructions.

Schleich’s squirrel

Like I wrote earlier, this video is the last one of the series. I’ll end this post with a few photos of my new Unbeatable Squirrel Girl doll and her sidekick, Tippy-Toe.

photo3

photo4

photo5

photo6

photo7

