I was pretty content to just spend the bulk of my holiday weekend at the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival while spending my downtime at home working on this tiny art canvas for an upcoming local contest. Monday-Thursday before the holiday were spent visiting my mother in a hospital in Glen Burnie. Thursday turned out to be the day before she was released from the hospital so I put my latest painting in the car, drove to Glen Burnie to visit my mother (while leaving my art in the car during that visit), then go directly from the hospital in Glen Burnie to the Greenbelt Community Center so I could drop off my painting for the Greenbelt Labor Day Art Show since it was the first time period that submissions were being accepted. Friday I drove to Baltimore where I visited the Walters Art Museum then went to the nearby Escape Artists Gallery for a closing show party regarding this exhibition that I took part in. I was invited to take my painting with me when I left because it didn’t sell and the show was going to end in two days.

After spending the last five days commuting from the DC area to the Baltimore area I was ready to do less traveling for Labor Day.

I didn’t make it to the first night of the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival on Friday because I was in Baltimore at that time. I went on Saturday because I had signed up to serve a shift as a monitor at the art show. (All participants were required to sign up for one volunteer shift during the show.) The day before I had some ATM drama where I tried to use this machine in Baltimore that gave me one of those dreaded “Access Denied” messages. The following morning I went to my own bank’s ATM and I got some money with no problem at all. I felt happy and I was all ready to just enjoy the festival.

The weather was incredibly lovely and pleasant. It was warm but not too hot and there was no humidity in the air. In short, it was a perfect day to go to an outdoor festival.

Since parking is atrocious whenever the Labor Day Festival happens I took the shuttle bus over to the festival grounds after I ate lunch at home. I went over to the art show where I served my monitor shift for an hour from 3-4 p.m. Here is the painting that I submitted to this year’s Greenbelt Labor Day Art Show.

picture5

You can read more about the making of this piece right here.

My monitor shift was peaceful and uneventful. After my shift ended I looked at the rest of the art that were on display in both the art show and photography show. I ate a giant pretzel topped with crabmeat and cheese for dinner then ate an ice cream cone for dessert. I checked the various booths and tables that were there that day. I played a few rounds of Bingo but I didn’t win anything. I also shot some photographs.

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival

Since this year is an election year, there were life-sized cardboard figures resembling Hillary Clinton and Barack Obama.

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival

I hung around the festival as the sun started to set and day turned into night.

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival

Basically I took pictures until I grew tired. I decided to take the shuttle bus back to where my car was parked. While I was waiting at the bus stop I saw a couple pass me from behind and I immediately recognized them as my ex-husband and my onetime mentally ill friend whom he married just two months after out divorce was final. By then it was around 8 p.m. and I was leaving the festival while the Backstabbing Couple From Hell were just entering it. At least I didn’t have to worry about running into them. (LOL!)

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 4, 2016
Greenbelt Parade and Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2016

