I recently made the trip to The Wind-Up Space in Baltimore in order to attend another session of Dr. Sketchy’s Anti-Art School. I arrived a bit early and it’s still the time of the year where the days are longer so I took advantage of the situation by doing some walking around the Station North Arts District.

Located about a block north of The Wind-Up Space I found something interesting that I never noticed before. Here’s a boarded up building that looked like it might have been once a theater or some other kind of public building.

photo1

photo2

In front of this building is a sidewalk that looks like it’s a smaller-scale version of Hollywood’s Walk of Fame in California. I found a two concrete blocks that mentioned the annual Maryland Film Festival and a label that said “Heritage Lifetime Achievements.”

photo3

photo4

I recognized the majority of names etched in concrete, even though some of the concrete is faded (due probably to a combination of being exposed to the outdoor elements and having people walk on it).

photo5

photo6

photo7

photo8

photo9

photo10

photo11

photo12

At one point I walked down North Charles Street towards Penn Station, where I saw this interesting police box that is covered in mirrors and mosaic tiles.

photo13

photo14

photo15

I walked past the BAMF Cafe, whose windows are now decorated in honor of the current hottest mobile video game on the planet, Pokemon Go.

photo16

photo17

I also took a few miscellaneous shots of the area.

photo18

photo19

photo20

photo21

photo22

photo23

photo24

photo25

I eventually went inside The Wind-Up Space, where I switched to my drawing pad.

photo26

As you can guess from the above photo, the model for this event was a burlesque performer known as Kahlee Flower. Some of the drawings I did are definitely NSFW.

picture1

picture2

picture3

picture4

picture5

picture6

picture7

picture8

picture9

picture10

One of the contests I took part in was a beach theme. I drew Kahlee Flower as a mermaid. Then I remembered Disney’s recent tendency towards making live-action remakes of their animated features (so far they’ve done remakes of The Jungle Book, Cinderella, and Sleeping Beauty) so I incorporated it into my drawing. I also remembered this year’s elections and decided to cast that fascist buffoon Donald Trump as the Sea Witch in my fantasy Disney live-action remake. That drawing didn’t make it among the finalists. Oh well.

picture11

I took part in one more contest where we did a straight drawing of Kahlee Flower. The next drawing was my entry but I did’t make it among the finalists either.

picture12

I did one more drawing of Kahlee Flower before I drove back home.

picture13

