I had a pretty eventful day full of travel, starting with a brief visit to my old school, which I wrote about in a previous post. Afterwards I drove further north until I ended up at the Station North Arts District. I arrived a bit early where I ate a cheap dinner at McDonald’s. (I originally planned on eating at the BAMF! Cafe only to find out that, for unknown reasons, the place decided to close earlier than usual on that day.) Afterwards I did some walking around the area taking pictures while dealing with the heat and humidity (a.k.a. the usual Mid-Atlantic Region summer weather). I shot this interesting looking wall mural that I hadn’t noticed before.

photo1

The next two photos are of this billboard that constantly changes with new messages. (Someone writes a message, then it gets painted over with white paint only to have a new message get written on it.) The latest message asks “WHOEVER DIED FROM A ROUGH RIDE: THE WHOLE DAMN SYSTEM…” (obviously a reference to the death of Freddie Gray at the hands of the Baltimore police last year).

photo2

photo3

A homeless man naps outside on the steps of an empty building that looks like it has just gotten new windows put in. (Notice the stickers on the windows.)

photo4

The next few photos has all kinds of commentaries.

photo5

photo6

photo7

photo8

photo9

I came upon this nice little park on St. Paul Street that has lovely colorful murals painted on the walls and on the sidewalk.

photo10

photo11

photo12

I didn’t stay too long in that park because it was almost close to the start of Dr. Sketchy’s Anti-Art School at The Wind-Up Space. The model for this session was a burlesque performer known as Whiskey Joy from Timeless Tease Productions. Some of the drawings I did are definitely NSFW.

photo13

It was only after the event started that I realized that I was running out of paper in my sketchbook, which totally annoyed me because there is an art supply store located just a block away from The Wind Up Space and I forgot to go there to buy a new sketch pad while I was walking around that area. Ugh! I dealt with it by doing multiple drawings on the same page, such as the next two drawings below.

picture1

picture2

I did one standalone drawing of Whiskey Joy.

picture3

I took part in one contest that was held that evening. July 11 was Andy Warhol’s birthday and the challenge was to draw Whiskey Joy in the Andy Warhol style. I did this multipart drawing that was based on Warhol’s numerous portraits of Marilyn Monroe. I was only one of two people who attempted this (there were a lot of college students who were there that night—The Wind Up Space is located near the Maryland Institute College of Art—and Andy Warhol just doesn’t resonate with the younger generation). My drawing made it among the finalists by default but I lost to the other contestant.

picture4

I did one last drawing of Whiskey Joy on the last clean sheet in my sketchbook before I left for home.

picture5

