This painting I did a few years back will be available for sale soon as a fundraiser.

Desire

Desire
Acrylic on canvas
9 inches x 12 inches
23 cm x 30 cm

If you happen to be in the Baltimore-Washington, DC area (or plan to visit soon), you’ll have the opportunity to purchase this one of a kind painting from August 19- September 4 at this location:

The Escape Artists
827 North Charles Street
Baltimore, Maryland 21201

The proceeds from the sale of this painting and other works of art by other artists that will also be on display will benefit those who were displaced by the recent flood in Ellicott City that happened on July 30. For more details about this, check out the event’s Facebook page or the gallery’s website.

As for information about the painting itself, the short answer is that it was based on a photograph of an Australian shepherd named Jay-Jay who was owned by my late mother-in-law and her second husband and he lived his entire life in Phoenix. If you want more details about the story behind this painting, check out this blog post that I wrote on September 26, 2011. Since I wrote that post my husband walked out on me and I ended up divorced. I haven’t communicated with any of my ex-husband’s Arizona relatives (which also included my ex-husband’s step-brothers, step-sisters, their spouses, and their children) since he left in December, 2011 nor have I even seen Jay-Jay the dog since my last visit to Arizona in January, 2011 (when my then-husband and I flew to Phoenix to celebrate his step-father’s 80th birthday just 11 months before my marriage suddenly imploded).

UPDATE (August 12, 2016): Here is some updated info about the show. A reception will be held at The Escape Artists Gallery from 7-10 p.m. on Friday, August 19. The show itself will end on September 4. There is a possibility of a second fundraising art show being held in Columbia for all art works that didn’t sell in the upcoming Baltimore show. If my painting fails to sell and it gets transferred to the Columbia show, I’ll definitely provide updates.

