I saw this event that showed up on my Facebook feed that announced a Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot that would take place at McKeldin Fountain on June 18 and it invited both photographers and cosplayers to attend. I decided to check it out as a photographer. (I have a My Little Pony Rainbow Dash hoodie but the weather was way too warm to wear it.) It was just as well that I made the effort because that fountain had been scheduled for demolition since last year and I found this Facebook post that had a photo of the construction site barrier that now surrounds that fountain so no one can visit it. Here is what the fountain looked like on my last visit.

McKeldin Fountain in Baltimore

The cosplayers and photographers gathered around the fountain at the posted time.

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

The event was more organized than the photos in this post show. Whoever organized this photoshoot had recruited a professional photographer who took individual cosplay portraits in the shaded area of McKeldin Fountain. Cosplayers who wanted a formal portrait waited in line for the chance to have their costumes preserved in photographs.

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot

Here are a few behind the scenes shots of the photographers and organizers.

The Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016
The Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

Once all the individual portraits were shot it was time for group photographs, starting with one large group of everyone who arrived in costume.

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

There were a series of smaller group photos that were assorted into such categories as “heroes,” “villains,” etc.

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot, June 18, 2016

This was the first time I ever checked out a cosplay event that wasn’t tied-in with a convention (such as Otakon or BronyCon). It drew a relatively small group compared with what the conventions typically draw but I don’t regret going since it turned out to be the last time I would ever take any pictures of the soon-to-be-dismantled McKeldin Fountain. I could easily write a separate rant on why I’m sad that it’s going to be destroyed because I have taken numerous photos of that fountain ever since my college days when I got my first high-quality SLR camera (a 35 mm Pentax MX). I’ll definitely miss that fountain.

I also did some general walking around Baltimore, which I’m going to write about in a separate post because those photos have absolutely nothing to do with the Baltimore Cosplay Photoshoot.

