Previous Entries in This Series

Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 5
Part 6
Part 7
Part 8
Part 9
Part 10
Part 11

Since today is Bastille Day in France, I decided to show off my latest addition to the Doll Dreams Book. Previously I did an American-themed page which I based on a three-part online tutorial that was posted on YouTube. That page faced a blank gesso page. Here is what the page looked like before I covered it in gesso and art.

page18

I know that three countries celebrate major national holidays in July—Canada Day on July 1, Independence Day in the U.S. on July 4, and Bastille Day in France on July 14. I managed to finish the American drawing in time for July 4, which falls after Canada Day. For the facing page I decided to do a similar French-themed work for Bastille Day.

I basically followed a similar format to the previous page where I did a quick cartoon-style sketch in pencil then used ink for all of the foreground elements and a watercolor pencil that was dipped in water for the background. I did her clothes, hat, and shoes in the same red, white, and blue flag colors. Her belt has the words “14 juillet” or 14 July, which is the date of Bastille Day.

12-page18

As for the woman, her name is Marianne. If you’re wondering why a woman named Marianne would fly the French flag wearing a belt that has the date of Bastille Day, you need to educate yourself. Basically Marianne is roughly the French equivalent of Uncle Sam but she also has some American ties as well. She was the original inspiration for the Statue of Liberty, which makes sense considering that the Statue of Liberty was created by a French sculptor named Frédéric Auguste Bartholdi.

This project was basically a quick one that I managed to finish in about a day-and-a-half. Right now I’m currently taking a little bit of a break from working on any more pages in this book because I’m trying to avoid burnout, like what happened by late August of last year. (I had originally intended to wait until around December or January before I resumed work on this book but I ended up not resuming until just a few days before Memorial Day weekend.) I only have four more pages that I need to work on before I’m totally done with this Doll Dreams Book.

