Ramadan

The weekend before the DC primary election there was this special art exhibition at The Fridge that was dedicated to Bernie Sanders. I attended the Friday night opening reception. While I was traveling via Metro I saw a woman who was obviously dressed for Awesome Con, which was held the same weekend. (I haven’t been to Awesome Con since 2014 mainly because of financial reasons but I was also turned off by the crowds. I attended the first year in 2013 and I liked the fact that it was relatively small and laid-back. The following year it had literally doubled in size so it was very crowded and full of very long lines. The entrance fee had also doubled in price compared to the year before. It was a letdown compared to that first year where I could go to any panel without having to wait in any long lines.)

A Photo I Took on the Way to the Bern the System Event in DC

The Fridge is located just a couple of blocks away from the Eastern Market Metro station and it’s located in an area of Capitol Hill known as Barracks Row because of the Marine Corps barracks located in that area. It’s a pretty trendy area full of upscale bars and restaurants. I took a photo of this really attractive mural that is located on the side of an Asian restaurant known as Hooshi.

A Photo I Took on the Way to the Bern the System Event in DC

I found The Fridge with no problem. Here are my photos from that event.

Bern the System at The Fridge

Bern the System at The Fridge

Bern the System at The Fridge

Bern the System at The Fridge

Bern the System at The Fridge

Bern the System at The Fridge

Bern the System at The Fridge

Bern the System at The Fridge

Bern the System at The Fridge

Bern the System at The Fridge

Bern the System at The Fridge

Bern the System at The Fridge

Bern the System at The Fridge

Bern the System at The Fridge

Bern the System at The Fridge

On the way back to the Eastern Market Metro I decided to check out this cupcake shop known as Sweet Lobby [ http://www.sweetlobby.com ], whose biggest claim to fame is that the owner of this place once won first place on an episode of The Food Network show Cupcake Wars. I decided to purchase a Smores cupcake to take home with me. I opened its pretty box the next day. I found that it tasted excellent. It had a graham cracker base with a chocolate cupcake that’s topped with marshmallow icing. It was so awesome! I’ll definitely keep this place in mind the next time I visit the Barracks Row part of Capitol Hill.

Bern the System at The Fridge

Bern the System at The Fridge

Bern the System at The Fridge

