Ramadan

Like I wrote a few weeks ago, I was currently involved with a startup where we were test-marketing a line of white jumpsuits that have been pre-treated with Sawyer Permethrin. I did the initial test at the Greenbelt Green Man Festival the previous weekend where I walked around the festival grounds wearing one of the white jumpsuits. I found that it was a conversation starter but I didn’t sell a single jumpsuit.

The Loudon Lyme 10K/5K/1K Fun Run was the event where we would make an effort to really test market the jumpsuits. I learned a couple of days before the event that we would not have a vendor table. Instead we would walk around the festival grounds wearing the white jumpsuits while selling the rest from backpacks that we would carry around.

The start time of the event was 8 a.m. and I tried getting there as fast as I could despite the obstacles. First I was driving to Ashburn, Virginia, which is a part of Northern Virginia I haven’t traveled to in a number of years. (My sister-in-law lived there for a few years with her then-husband and their son but that was a long time ago and she now lives in the Lehigh Valley area of Pennsylvania.) Then I was directed by my smartphone’s GPS to go on the toll roads, which meant that I had to wait in lines at two toll booths. (I once had an EZ Pass when I was married by my husband took custody of that when we got divorced. I haven’t gotten around to getting my own EZ Pass because I don’t travel on toll roads often enough for me to justify paying for one.) If that wasn’t enough, it was very windy that day and I had to deal with wind gusts blowing on both sides of my car. I ended up driving slower than I normally would because I didn’t want to risk a heavy wind gust blowing my car into the next lane and risk getting into an accident.

I managed to arrive but there were so many people that it took me a while to catch up with the other person I was working with. The event was still going on when I arrived. We both tried selling those jumpsuits only to not get a single sale at all and we have 60 jumpsuits that were pre-treated with that Sawyer Permethrin spray.

In any case I took a few pictures. It was a bright, sunny day despite those wind gusts.

Loudon Lyme 5K/10K/1K Fun Run, May 15, 2016

Loudon Lyme 5K/10K/1K Fun Run, May 15, 2016

Loudon Lyme 5K/10K/1K Fun Run, May 15, 2016

Loudon Lyme 5K/10K/1K Fun Run, May 15, 2016

Loudon Lyme 5K/10K/1K Fun Run, May 15, 2016

Loudon Lyme 5K/10K/1K Fun Run, May 15, 2016

Loudon Lyme 5K/10K/1K Fun Run, May 15, 2016

Loudon Lyme 5K/10K/1K Fun Run, May 15, 2016

Loudon Lyme 5K/10K/1K Fun Run, May 15, 2016

Loudon Lyme 5K/10K/1K Fun Run, May 15, 2016

Loudon Lyme 5K/10K/1K Fun Run, May 15, 2016

Loudon Lyme 5K/10K/1K Fun Run, May 15, 2016

Loudon Lyme 5K/10K/1K Fun Run, May 15, 2016

Loudon Lyme 5K/10K/1K Fun Run, May 15, 2016

Loudon Lyme 5K/10K/1K Fun Run, May 15, 2016

Loudon Lyme 5K/10K/1K Fun Run, May 15, 2016

Like I wrote earlier, we didn’t sell a single jumpsuit. If you’re curious as to what one of those jumpsuits looks like, check out this post, which I wrote a few days before this event.

UPDATE (June 25, 2016): You can read about what ultimately happened to that startup and why I’m no longer involved with it right here.

