Ramadan

Before I headed over to The Wind-Up Space where I attended another session of Dr. Sketchy’s Anti-Art School, I took advantage of the increasingly longer days to walk around the Station North Arts District. I haven’t been to that area in a few months (mainly because I got involved with a book discussion group that met on Mondays) so I’m noticing the changes that the area has undergone. There are all kinds of new businesses and art murals popping up in that area, which is pretty cool. It’s quite a contrast to when I attended my first Dr. Sketchy’s event way back in 2011 and the area was still pretty marginal and run-down at the time.

picture1

piicture2

picture3

picture4

picture5

picture6

picture7

picture8

There are also tributes to Freddie Gray, whose senseless murder at the hands of the Baltimore police and the riots that followed that incident has just passed its first anniversary.

picture9

There is also this really cool mural that no longer exists because the building it was painted on was torn down. Here is what the mural once looked like when I took these pictures on previous visits.

photo3

photo4

Here is what the building site looked like on May 9, 2016.

picture10

There is also a Harriet Tubman Solidarity Center, which, judging from the signs in the windows, are definitely involved with the Black Lives Matter movement.

picture11

picture12

It’s located directly over what looks like a sex shop known as Pervfect Playground Boutique. (Both places were closed when I was there.)

picture13

The last time I was in the area was during my ill-fated attempt to catch up with a Bernie Sanders march that was happening in Baltimore. I checked out the BAMF Cafe, which had opened last year, but I didn’t order anything at the time because I was short on money and I had brought my own lunch (which I ended up eating in Penn Station). I did plenty of gawking at the geek-themed decor. On this trip I not only returned to the BAMF Cafe but I actually ordered a sandwich and iced tea (both of which were pretty tasty) and I took advantage of its free wi-fi. I also took a few more pictures of items that I somehow missed on my last visit.

picture14

picture15

picture16

picture17

picture18

picture19

After dinner I headed over to The Wind-Up Space where I switched to my pencils. The model for this Dr. Sketchy’s session was a burlesque performer known as Tempete La Coeur. At this point is where the NSFW drawings begin.

picture1

picture2

picture3

picture4

picture5

picture6

picture7

I took part in two contests that were held that evening. One contest was based on the fact that May 9 was the birthday of J.M. Barrie, who wrote Peter Pan so we had to somehow incorporate Peter Pan into our drawings. I made this effort where I portrayed Tempete La Coeur as Tinker Bell but it didn’t make it among the finalists.

picture8

The next contest was one whose theme the organizers were stumped on and they asked the audience for suggestions. One guy called for justice. I decided on something even better. Lately I’ve been reading the newer issues of the Howard the Duck comic book series and I’ve been doing the Throwback Thursday series devoted to the original 1970’s comic book series. So I called out “Howard the Duck” and they decided to do a combination where people could incorporate justice or Howard the Duck or both. For added measure, they even played the theme song from that notorious bomb 1980’s Howard the Duck movie. I made this effort but it didn’t make it among the finalists.

picture9

I drew one last picture before I headed home for the evening.

picture10

