I’ve heard the news today about Muhammad Ali’s passing. In a way it’s no surprise since he had been battling Parkinson’s disease for the last several years. It’s still kind of sad because I remember him back in his prime when he used to spout off rhyming couplets off the ring while defeating many of his opponents on the ring.

There are so many other people online who are putting up their own tributes to Muhammad Ali and writing about his life’s accomplishments (of which there are many) that there is nothing that I can really add here. Instead I’m just going to put up this song about Muhammad Ali that was a big hit on the radio when I was a kid back in the 1970’s but it’s relatively obscure today. (I know it’s been a long time since I last heard this song being played anywhere.) It’s by Johnny Wakelin & The Kinshasa Band and this particular song is paired with vintage footage of Muhammad Ali in his fighting prime in the ring as well as spending his downtime hobnobbing with other celebrities like Michael Jackson and The Beatles. Enjoy!

