American Flag

I spent part of the Mother’s Day weekend at the Greenbelt Green Man Festival. Earlier this month I made an allusion to showing off a new product that I modeled on behalf of a new startup. Basically the startup’s first product is a jumpsuit that’s been pretreated with Sawyer Permethrin so one can go hiking, camping, gardening, and other types of outdoor activities without worrying about being bitten by ticks and mosquitos (both of which carry nasty diseases like Lyme and Zika). I posted a selfie while wearing one of those suits. I was also given packaged suits to carry around with me to sell as I walked around the festival ground.

I didn’t sell any suits. Most of the people I spoke with said that they weren’t into camping or money was tight. But the suit I was wearing did get people to open up to me about Lyme disease because they mentioned that they have a friend or relative who’s struggling with this devastating illness. I even had a longtime friend admit to me that she currently has Lyme disease. I knew that she had health issues, which have affected her mobility, but they never got specific as to the cause until she saw me wear that jumpsuit with a sign affixed to the back saying “Ask Me About Permethrin-Treated Disposable Jumpsuit.”

I wore the suit on the first day of the festival while I walked around taking pictures.

Festival Ad Poster

 

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Like I wrote earlier I didn’t make any sales on those permethrin-treated jumpsuits. What was worse was that I saw The Backstabbing Couple From Hell (a.k.a. my ex-husband and his mentally ill second wife who used to be a friend of mine until I found out she wasn’t such a good friend). I left the festival about an hour before closing time because I grew tired of seeing them walking around acting all happy. (I have no idea if they are really happy or not and I don’t care.)

The following day I was scheduled to be a substitute teacher for the English language classes my church offers to recent immigrants on Sunday afternoons. I ended up skipping Sunday morning service so I could check out some of Greenbelt Green Man Festival. I didn’t wear the jumpsuit on the second day because I was only there about an hour and a half at the most and I went straight to church for the English classes. I took a few photos of the second day of the festival.

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Greenbelt Green Man Festival

I bought just two items at this weekend’s Greenbelt Green Man Festival. One was a pendant made from recycled dominos that features an image of Edgar Allan Poe.

What I Bought at This Year's Greenbelt Green Man Festival

What I Bought at This Year's Greenbelt Green Man Festival

The other was a t-shirt featuring an image of Jesus riding on the back of a dinosaur.

What I Bought at This Year's Greenbelt Green Man Festival

Anyway that’s it for this year’s Greenbelt Green Man Festival.

UPDATE (June 25, 2016): You can read about why I’m no longer involved with that startup for whom I was selling those jumpsuits at the Greenbelt Green Man Festival right here.

