In the past I’ve written blog posts about the art that one can find all over the place in Takoma Park, Maryland (with my most recent post on this topic that I wrote on March 21, 2016). Here are a few more recent examples of the permanent art that one can see on the streets of Takoma Park.

photo1

photo2

photo3

photo4

Over a week ago I attended the annual weekend-long Takoma Park Art Hop.

photo5

I knew that it was a special event when I saw that someone had placed a child-sized mitten on the head of the memorial for Roscoe the Rooster (you can read more about this unusual memorial here).

photo6

The Art Hop was a mix of local businesses holding sidewalk sales while other businesses (such as restaurants and galleries) hosting art made my Takoma Park residents (with a number of the artists actually available to talk with and even buy something from them).

photo7

photo8

photo9

photo10

photo11

photo12

There were a couple of places where people of all ages were allowed to create their own art for free.

photo13

The Art Hop formally closed with a drumming circle that took place at this gazebo located in a small urban park right in the center of town. In addition to drummers there were also dancers and people playing with hula hoops. There were extra percussion instruments in case anyone who passed by wanted to join in this circle.

photo18

photo20

photo21

photo22

photo14

photo26

photo15

photo23

photo16

photo19

photo17

photo24

photo27

photo25

I even shot a short video of this drumming circle.

