Ever since I started attending weekly meetings of a support group for people who are separated or divorced, I’ve gotten to know the town of Crofton, Maryland really well. A lot of times I’ve stopped at the nearby Waugh Chapel Towne Centre either on the way to or from the meetings to eat dinner or to buy something I needed. The shopping center itself has mostly chain stores and restaurants (like Target, Wegmans, Chico’s, Five Below, etc.) but there is this one feature that doesn’t get noticed by shoppers very much but I think it’s worth taking a look at. In the middle of the shopping center is this statue.

photo1

It’s a statue of children climbing this tree and doing all the things that children would do if they were playing in a wooded park outside instead of going shopping with their parents.

photo2

photo3

That boy looks like he’s either trying to pet the bird or capture it for some reason.

photo4

