I’m finally writing a new post about the virtual Japanese pop superstar Hatsune Miku for the first time in 2016. About a couple of weeks ago I was shopping at a local Five Below (the store chain where everything is sold for under $5) when I saw this blind blister pack featuring a backpack hanger that’s shaped like Hatsune Miku for around $2-$3. I decided to buy it on impulse mainly because finding affordable Hatsune Miku stuff is so difficult in the United States. A Volks Dollfie Dream based on Hatsune Miku costs around 62,000 yen (or close to $545 U.S. dollars), Amazon.com is selling a Pullip version of Hatsune Miku for nearly $140, and this Hatsune Miku action figure costs $117.49.

So I bought the cheap Hatsune Miku backpack hanger from Five Below and I took it home. Here is what the package looked like in the front.

Hatsune Miku Backpack Hanger

As you can see, the package is one of those blind blister packages where the purchaser does not know which backpack hanger he/she is getting until after the consumer purchases the item and takes it home. The front has a very cute illustration of Hatsune Miku in chibi form with her name written in both Japanese and English. The back of the package shows the six possible backpack hangers that the consumer could potentially get. (Of course, this package only has one of the six designs.)

Hatsune Miku Backpack Hanger

When you first open the blister package, the backpack hanger is covered with a sheet of cardboard.

Hatsune Miku Backpack Hanger

Once the cardboard is removed, you start to see which design you’ve just purchased. It turned out that I got the design that’s identical to the illustration on the front of the blister package, which features a grinning Hatsune Miku with her eyes shut and flashing a peace sign. The hanger part is encased in plastic.

Hatsune Miku Backpack Hanger

Once I removed the plastic I saw that, under the big ring, her name is printed in a large Japanese font with her English name spelled in a much smaller font underneath.

Hatsune Miku Backpack Hanger

As you can see, this backpack hanger is very cute.

Hatsune Miku Backpack Hanger

Hatsune Miku Backpack Hanger

The figurine doesn’t stand on her own so I had to use a small Pyrex dish in order to prop her up.

Hatsune Miku Backpack Hanger

Hatsune Miku Backpack Hanger

For this last photo I played around with my photo app where I took this picture of Hatsune Miku with her backpack hanger doppelgänger.

International pop superstar Hatsune Miku next to her doppelganger.

The bottom line is this: this backpack hanger is very cute and charming and it’s definitely an affordable way for cash-strapped folks to purchase official Hatsune Miku stuff. The downside is the blind blister package because you literally don’t know which design you’ll be getting until after you purchase it. That can be a hassle for anyone who wants to collect all six Hatsune Miku backpack hangers in this series. I know that buying collectibles in blind packages is the rage these days but I’m personally not a fan of it because of the risk that you’ll end up with something that’s either a duplicate of something that you already own or you’ll get a design that you’re not fond of. Personally I’d rather know exactly what I’m buying before I buy it. Yes it was an impulse buy of a cheap item but I probably won’t buy any more blind blister packages because I don’t want to risk getting a duplicate, which would then lead me to figure out what to do with that extra duplicate.

