Two more influential music stars have died this week. (And that’s on top of the other stars who have died en masse since December including Scott Weiland, Natalie Cole, David Bowie, etc.) A few days ago Sir George Martin, who was known as “The Fifth Beatle” for his production work on most of The Beatles music, died at the age of 90. His death gave me an excuse to check out The Beatles’ new YouTube channel. Here are just some of the songs that George Martin had served as the producer.

If all that wasn’t enough, today I learned that Keith Emerson of Emerson, Lake, and Palmer had died. Even though I wasn’t as big a fan of ELP as some of the other bands I used to listen to on the radio, I still knew about their music. My old college sweetheart who later became my ex-husband was a very big ELP fan who had several of their albums. (I remember he played some of them during the times when I would visit him.) But then he became an even bigger fan of Bruce Springsteen and he started playing more of The Boss’ music and less ELP music. I still remember this song that used to get a lot of airplay on the rock radio stations when I was growing up.

This last video is the one ELP song that I loved the most from that band when I was growing up.

