I recently checked out this free event at the Washington Navy Yard in Washington, DC that was a cross between Alice in Wonderland and a 1990’s-era rave. Basically there were these giant inflatable bunny-shaped sculptures that were also lit up at night. The bunnies were created by an Australian artist named Amanda Parer and they are currently on a tour of the United States. (The installation is officially known as Intrude.) If that wasn’t enough, there was also music and street performers. It was a pretty wild experience to say the least. Here is a short video I shot of this event.

Here are the still photos I shot that night. The giant bunnies were located near this fountain that had lights that constantly changed colors.

photo1

Both the giant size and the light fixtures inside the inflatable sculptures made those bunnies stand out against the night sky.

photo2

photo3

photo4

photo5

photo6

photo7

photo8

photo9

photo10

photo11

photo12

photo13

photo14

photo15

photo16

There was also a party event that reminded me of a 1990’s era rave. Spinning the tunes was a deejay known as DJ Manifesto. He not only played music but there were times when he would play the violin as well. He was pretty amazing to watch.

photo17

photo18

photo19

photo20

photo21

There were also performers who did dance routines with lights.

photo22

photo23

There was a giant Lite-Brite board where the general public can create their own designs using large light pegs.

photo24

photo25

That even drew a lot of people of all ages. (There was an earlier late afternoon event that was geared towards families that took place before I arrived.) I saw plenty of people wear special bunny ears that flashed various color lights and I saw a few people dance. The temperature was in the 30’s but it was still a fun event despite the cold weather.

photo26

photo27

photo28

I even brought my small sketchbook with me where I did this drawing based on one of the giant inflatable lit bunnies.

picture14

