On Labor Day last year I wrote a long rant on why I refuse to vote for either Hillary Clinton or Jeb Bush based largely on the fact that I’m sour on political dynasties in general and neither one of them have convinced me that they would rule in a way that’s different from how their relatives ruled when they occupied the White House.

Well I no longer have to worry about choosing to continue one of the political dynasties because Jeb Bush has dropped out of the race on the Republican side altogether. That’s the good news. The bad news is that Donald Trump is now in the lead and he’s currently the most likely candidate to get the Republican nomination. Yes, that’s the same ¬†Trump whom I denounced in this blog as a Fascist Buffoon a few months ago.

I’ve seen the social media posts from people urging everyone to vote for Hillary Clinton in order to prevent the rise of a President Donald Trump. Nope, I’m not going to budge on that one because Clinton hasn’t done anything to convince me that she deserves to be the first woman ever elected as President of the United States. I’ve already written my reasons in my Labor Day post but here are a few more recent links to commentaries written by others that I agree with.

Why Do Young People Have a Visceral Dislike for Hillary?

Hey, Hillary, Here’s Why People Don’t Trust You

Right now I support Bernie Sanders in the Democratic primaries. (I’m a registered Democrat so I can vote for him in Maryland when the time comes.) If the race ultimately boils down to Hillary Clinton or Donald Trump, I will vote for Jill Stein on the Green Party ticket because no matter who wins on the Republican or Democratic side, it’s highly unlikely that I’ll improve my lot in life and this country will continue its long economic slide. (Besides I agree with much on the Green Party platform.) Granted Hillary Clinton will be slightly better than Donald Trump but she is aligned too closely to Wall Street and it’s highly unlikely that she’ll create any policies that will result in the creation of higher paying jobs. (I’m old enough to remember when her husband signed NAFTA, which resulted in all those formerly highly paid union jobs being shipped to Mexico.)

As a woman I would love to see a woman occupy the Oval Office in my lifetime. But it has to be the right kind of woman, one who cares about the average person way more than the Wall Street people. Hillary Clinton just doesn’t cut it in my opinion.

UPDATE (February 23, 2016): Robert Reich has an interesting column that I highly recommend reading on Are We Witnessing the Death of America’s Political Establishment?

