Last Sunday I decided to go to downtown College Park after attending Sunday service because I was in the mood to go to this bagel place that I hadn’t been to in many months. (Plus it’s free parking on Sundays in College Park, which is very nice.) I parked in the parking garage that’s next to a Target Express. As I was walking outside I saw that the nearby Greek sorority houses were all decorated because apparently that day was known as Bid Day. (Ironically it was also Super Bowl Sunday on that very same day.)

Here’s a full disclosure. Even though I am an alumni of the University of Maryland at College Park, I had never joined a sorority during my time there. That was mainly because the young women I met at the tables during Rush Week reminded me too much of the cheerleaders in my old high school who were among those who called me “mentally retarded” and looked down upon me like they wished that my mother had sought an illegal back alley abortion when she was pregnant with me. I was afraid that those sorority girls would’ve eventually decided, for some reason, that I was somehow inferior so I decided to spare myself the trauma and not even bother with the Greek system. I don’t regret it because I met plenty of friends any way and, with a student campus population of 30,000 during my time there, the Greeks represented just a minority of the student population.

I took a detour on my way to the bagel place and took a few of the photographs of the nearby sorority houses that were decorated for the occasion. First is this photo explaining the area near where the bagel shop is located is known as the Graham Cracker area of College Park (which got its name from the fact that before the sorority houses were built the area was a field and it was said that the ground resembled the surface of a graham cracker).

Sign Explaining the Graham Cracker Section of College Park

Here are what the decorated sorority houses looked like on Bid Day.

Greek Bid Day

Greek Bid Day

It's Greek Bid Day at the fraternities/sororities in the Graham Cracker section of College Park near the University of Maryland campus.

Greek Bid Day

Greek Bid Day

Greek Bid Day

Greek Bid Day

