Last week the entire Baltimore-Washington, DC area came to a sudden grinding halt when the Blizzard of 2016 dropped at least a foot and a half of snow (which is more typical for a place like Minnesota or Buffalo than the Mid-Atlantic region). The federal, state, and local governments were closed for a few days, schools were closed for the entire week, and driving around was a bit treacherous.

Last Friday (January 29) I was doing some grocery shopping when the traffic on one of the side streets were temporary halted because a fire had broken out in the nearby apartment complex. I saw police cars and fire trucks everywhere were fire fighters were running around and the police officers were trying to control traffic. While I was at a local store I tried driving around a parked SUV only to get my car stuck in a small pile of snow. I tried digging out using a small snow shovel that I have for my car but the car was still stuck. I finally had to put the car in reverse and drive backwards in order to move it anywhere.

After that incident, I basically stuck close to home for most of the weekend. Although I did some walking in the local area. The snow is still around but some of it has melted due to a few days where the temperature managed to climb above the freezing mark. But I’m still not going to take any major faraway driving trips anytime soon, especially since I’ve heard that Baltimore had gotten even more snow (with nearly 30 inches) than we did.

Here are a few photos I took on Saturday, January 30, just one week after the Blizzard of 2016. The snow on the ground provided lots of opportunities to take some really cool winter nature photos.

The Blizzard of 2016 Aftermath

The Blizzard of 2016

The Blizzard of 2016

The Blizzard of 2016

The Blizzard of 2016

The last photo shows one of the many snow mountains that have been created in many of the area parking lots.

The Blizzard of 2016

Things are slowly trying to get back to normal despite the snags. Yesterday after church (January 31) I had to stop off at Aldi to buy a few things that I forgot to purchase during previous grocery store runs this past week. The parking lot was very packed and it didn’t help that a lot of the parking spaces were occupied by snow mountains similar to the one in the above photograph. I was very lucky to have found one of the last available parking spaces. Inside it was just as crowded as it was the day before the blizzard officially began in earnest. It was like people had consumed a lot of food and other staples (like toilet paper) while they were snowed in so they needed to replenish their pantries.

Well, anyway, I’m done with shopping for the moment. I’m going to wait until some more of that snow melts away before I even brave a shopping center parking lot again. Yesterday it went up in the 50’s and so much of that snow had melted that I started to see grass on my front lawn once again. I hope that trend continues because I’m tired of snow right now.

