Recently I attended a Dr. Sketchy’s Anti-Art School event for the first time in 2016. It was held at The Wind-Up Space in Baltimore and it’s been a few months since I last attended the Baltimore events. I was drawn to this event when I learned that a male burlesque performer was going to be the model that night.

It was also held on a date that was auspicious because several hours earlier I had learned that David Bowie had died. It reminded me so much of the time in August, 2014 when I was at the Baltimore Dr. Sketchy’s event on the same night that I learned that Robin Williams had died. I still remember that night when Williams’ death had slowly made its way via cell phone messages, texts, and push notifications during model breaks as more and more people learned the sad news. At least with Bowie’s death, I had already known that he was dead for several hours by the time I arrived in Baltimore and so did a lot of other people who attended that same event.

The model for this event was Hot Todd Lincoln, who usually serves as the MC at various burlesque shows as well as even producing a few of them. He was hilariously good natured as he posed for these drawings.

picture1

picture2

picture3

picture4

picture5

At one point he did this demonstration where he had two people from the audience tie him up with rope. He stood there while we drew him in his tied-up state. Once the timer went off signifying that it was okay for the model to move, he managed to free himself from the rope a la Harry Houdini.

picture6

I took part in two of the contests that were held that evening. One was where we had to somehow incorporate the recently deceased David Bowie into the drawing. I drew Hot Todd Lincoln while doing a combination of two of Bowie’s classic album covers, Aladdin Sane and Diamond Dogs. That drawing didn’t make it to the finals.

picture7

There was one other contest I took part in. At the time the multi-state Powerball lottery jackpot had gone up to $1.4 billion, which was the largest lottery prize available to date. The contest was to imagine what if Hot Todd Lincoln had won the Powerball. For my drawing I did a hybrid of four different stories, starting with having Hot Todd Lincoln winning the Powerball itself. One was having Hot Todd Lincoln sitting on a gold throne that resembled the Peacock Throne that once belonged to the Shah of Iran. Another one was the ultra-rare Wu-Tang Clan album whose production run was only limited to one. Finally, I mentioned the fact that the notorious Pharma Bro was the one who purchased that one and only ultra-rare Wu-Tang Clan album. My drawing was among the finalists but it didn’t win.

picture8

Since I did that drawing, it was announced that 12 of the Powerball tickets matched five of the six winning numbers while at least four additional tickets got all six numbers correct. Ultimately the jackpot was split between multiple people living all over the U.S.

After that contest I did one final drawing of Hot Todd Lincoln before the event ended.

picture9

