Birthday Cake Santa Claus

Six years ago today I wrote my first post in this blog. Over 2,000+ posts later, I’m still going strong with this blog. If this blog was a child, it would be in kindergarten now while I’m mentally preparing myself for it to begin first grade this September. (LOL!)

Today also happens to be the day known alternatively as the Twelfth Night, Little Christmas, Feast of the Epiphany, and Three Kings Day. January 6 marks the traditional end of the Christmas holiday season where it’s time to put all of the decorations away until December.

Last year for the fifth anniversary I went all out by writing a very long post where I did a year-by-year detail of what I did, where I’ve been, what I’ve accomplished, what I’ve learned, etc. I attempted to follow that long post by treating myself to a fancy dinner somewhere while taking photos for this blog. Except the fancy dinner didn’t pan out due to the fact that a major snowstorm had hit my area and I didn’t want to drive too far in such bad weather. I ultimately had my dinner at Popeye’s, which wasn’t what I had in mind for a fancy dinner but I had to make do given the circumstances at the time.

Writing that very long post last year gave me an idea of start writing a report giving the highlights of the previous year. The only difference is that I’m only going to focus on 2015 instead of all of the years going back to the beginning of this blog so it’ll definitely be way shorter than last year. So let’s take a look back at what I wrote about in this blog over the past year.

Suffering through a very cold winter during the first few months of the new year, which included periods of being snowed-in. I managed to visit Sandy Point State Park during a brief thaw but that was followed by a few more weeks of very cold weather.

I wrote a post about visiting a local Barnes & Noble store that briefly trended on other websites so my blog got more attention than usual.

I wrote a long post documenting the multi-week closing of the Kmart in my area, which had been there for many years. That entry remains among my most viewed posts for the past several months. I also wrote a shorter post about the closing of over 1,500 the RadioShacks nationwide, including all of the stores in my area.

Checked out the cherry blossoms in Washington, DC. and the Kenwood neighborhood in Bethesda, Maryland while also checking out the National Cherry Blossom Festival’s Sakura Matsuri and the Southwest Waterfront Fireworks Festival.

Feeling despair over the police brutality death of Freddie Gray, which resulted in riots happening in my birthplace of Baltimore. I took part in a May Day protest in that city where I ran into a local female impersonator known alternatively as Britney Girl Dale and Madonna Girl Dale, who is also the subject of this short documentary that has gotten attention in the local media (such as 98 Rock). I even visited the area where the riots took place one week later on Cinco de Mayo.

Checking out the chicken statues in Annapolis.

Published my first tutorial ever on Gumroad.com that ultimately sold only three copies.

Looking at some attractions in my hometown of Glen Burnie, Maryland that are listed on the RoadsideAttractions.com website.

Took a trip down memory lane by visiting the Sonny Bono Memorial Park near Dupont Circle in Washington, DC.

Attending a public wedding of two friends of mine that was held in the middle of a music festival.

Attending the 2015 Greenbelt Green Man Festival.

Driving along a portion of the Star Spangled Banner Trail in the Upper Marlboro area for the first time.

Attending the 2015 Maryland Faerie Festival.

Visiting the National Museum for Women in the Arts in Washington, DC.

Winning at Bingo for the first time in my life.

Seeing Heavy Metal Parking Lot and Led Zeppelin Played Here director Jeff Krulik in person.

Taking a trip through Southern Maryland where I visited Sotterley Plantation and drove along the Star-Spangled Banner Trail.

Attending my first Bernie Sanders event.

A butterfly exhibit at Brookside Gardens in Wheaton, Maryland.

The historic section of Bowie, Maryland.

A mini-golf course painted in florescent paint and placed in a darkened interior room lit with blacklight.

I made and uploaded a series of videos about my experiences playing with the interactive My Friend Cayla doll.

The Enchanted Forest’s 60th Anniversary Celebration at Clark’s Elioak Farm followed by the arrival of a bunch of dinosaurs at the same farm.

Attending a Doll and Teddy Bear Show in Glenn Dale, Maryland.

Attending BronyCon in Baltimore.

Visiting the War of 1812 landmarks closer to my home in Bladensburg, Colmar Manor, and Cottage City.

Selling my fabric for the first time on Spoonflower.com.

Visiting my old neighborhood in Baltimore where I lived from the time I was born until I was five, when my family moved to nearby Glen Burnie (which I also visited on that same trip).

Driving along the Star-Spangled Banner Trail in August.

Visiting the cemetery that is located next door to the home where my grandparents once lived for the first time in many years.

Visiting the graves of the famous Great Gatsby writer F. Scott Fitzgerald, his wife, Zelda, and their daughter, who was nicknamed Scottie.

Visiting an over-decorated home in my hometown of Glen Burnie, Maryland.

I figured out how to cash in an old $25 U.S. Savings Bond from 1979.

A few of the art shows, craft fairs, and other arts and crafts-related events I participated in:  Attending a few Dr. Sketchy’s Anti-Art School events in Baltimore and Washington, DC. The Greenbelt Mini-Maker Faire. The Greenbelt Labor Day Art Show. Selling at the Open House and Maker Fair event held at ReCreative Spaces in Mount Rainier, Maryland during Labor Day Weekend. Artomatic 2015 in Hyattsville, Maryland, where I made my formal debut as a filmmaker (Saving the Enchanted Forest). Attending a figure drawing event and a chain saw sculpting demonstration at the Otis Street Arts Project in Mount Rainier, Maryland. Selling at my church’s annual Holiday Craft Fair for two Sundays in a row in December.

