Santa ClausBaby New Year

 

 

 

 

Damn it looks like the New Year’s holiday weekend is also a time when a famous celebrity dies each day. Yesterday, on New Year’s Eve, I learned about the death of actor Wayne Rogers, who was best known for his role as Captain B.J. Hunicutt on the TV show MASH. I used to watch that show quite a bit during my teen and college years. I did some prowling through YouTube where I found this opening sequence of the original 1970 pilot where you can see Wayne Rogers interspersed in a few scenes with the other actors.

Then today, on New Year’s Day itself, I learned about the death of singer Natalie Cole. I remember her on the local Top 40 radio stations when I was growing up. While I thought she had a good singing voice, I wasn’t really into her music too much—with one exception. Here’s a video of her doing a totally kick-ass cover of Bruce Springsteen’s “Pink Cadillac” that comes pretty damned close to Springsteen’s original in terms of a song that totally rocked. If she had done more songs like that, I probably would’ve bought at least one of her CDs. Oh well.

