I spent the first Sunday in December attending another session of Dr. Sketchy’s Anti-Art School at the Bier Baron in Washington, DC.

When I got off the Metro at Dupont Circle I encountered this protest.

photo1

Yes, it was a group of Muslims who were protesting ISIS and terrorism in general. I hear so many right wing people in the media saying that all Muslims are terrorists but this march I saw directly contradicted that belief. Not only are all Muslims not terrorists but only a very tiny majority of them are actually waging violent jihad.

photo2

These right wingers will denounce all Muslims for being terrorists yet they are strangely silent on white Christians who also commit terrorism, such as Robert Lewis Dear and Dylann Storm Roof.

photo3

Having seen first-hand the outpouring of Muslims denouncing the terrorist extremists like ISIS makes Donald Trump’s call for a total ban on Muslims from entering the United States and refusal to rule out warrantless searches and ID cards for Muslims even more odious and more Hitler-like.

photo5

photo6

photo7

photo8

photo9

The next two photographs show some of the flyers and postcards that the protesters were handing out to bystanders.

photo4

photo11

I took one last shot as the protesters were walking south of Dupont Circle.

photo10

I ate a quick lunch as Cosi then I walked over to the Bier Baron. On my way there I took a couple of photos of this wall mural that’s located on the side on this building on P Street, N.W.

photo12

Not only does this mural depict a scene from The Wizard of Oz but it is also an example of a trompe l’oeil with a depiction of a realistic window that looks like it faces a view of the yellow brick road and the Emerald City in the distance.

photo13

I arrived at the Bier Baron just in time for the start of Dr. Sketchy’s Anti-Art School. A bellydancer named Naimah was the model so she was more clothed than the burlesque performers who usually serve as models. But she definitely had a way with a sword, as some of these drawings show.

picture1

picture2

picture3

picture4

There was only one contest at that event and I took part in it. Since the latest Star Wars movie was opening soon, the challenge was to put Naimah in a scene from any of the films. I had Naimah laying triumphantly on the body of Jabba the Hutt, whose throat she slashed with one of her long swords. That drawing didn’t make it to the finals.

picture5

After the contest I did a few more drawings of Naimah before the event ended.

picture6

picture7

picture8

 

Even though the event ended at 6 p.m. it felt like it was much later at night since it has been getting dark earlier and earlier. I noticed a bar and restaurant located around the corner from the Bier Baron called The Fireplace, which has a fireplace facing the street outside.

photo14

photo15

photo16

The fireplace at The Fireplace is covered with plexiglass, which felt warm when I put my hand on it.

photo17

I also made a brief stop at Fantom Comics since it was on the way back to the Metro station.

photo18

As you can guess from the name, Fantom Comics is a comic book store that’s located on the second floor of a building. The stairwell leading to the store is decorated with posters, drawings, and paintings, which makes it very colorful and interesting.

photo19

photo20

photo21

photo22

photo23

photo24

