On Small Business Saturday a few weeks ago, I went to the open house at ReCreative Spaces in Mount Rainier where I created this card using woodblocks, ink, and pens.

photo24

Not long afterwards I found this appeal on the Internet from a young girl named Safyre. Two years ago she survived a horrendous fire in her family’s apartment that was set by an arsonist. She lost her father and three siblings in that blaze. She suffered burns over 75 percent of her body and she has been suffering through numerous operations ever since. She told her aunt (whom she now lives with) that the only thing she wants for Christmas is to receive as many Christmas cards as possible.

So I decided to pass on that card to her. I wrote a short note mentioning how I created that card.

resizedforweb

I dropped it in the mailbox yesterday.

Today I found that a lot of other people have sent her cards as well. As of this article, she has amassed over 300,000 Christmas cards. What’s more, according to this article, she is even getting a free trip to Disney World.

It’s nice to see something good happen to someone who has gone through so much loss, pain, and grief.

I don’t know if Safyre will ever see my Christmas card or if it will literally get lost in the shuffle of so many other Christmas cards but I hope she’s happy that so many people cared enough to send her a card. And I have one less item lying around my own home so it’s all good.

It looks like she has more than enough cards but if you want to help her go up to over half a million cards or more, I’ll provide her mailing address.

Safyre
P.O. Box 6126
Schenectady, NY 12306

(You’ll need to add “USA” if you’re mailing from outside of the United States.)

UPDATE (December 24, 2015): President Barack Obama and First Lady Michelle Obama were among those who sent Christmas cards to Safyre. The New York Times have an interesting story on how the arson case behind Safyre’s current condition have dragged on for over two years and it had even led to Safyre’s mother being jailed for perjury.

