For the last few years there has been this push among local businesses throughout the United States to start something called Small Business Saturday. The idea is for people to shop local stores instead of going to the big box retailers. Small Business Saturday comes two days after Thanksgiving and one day after Black Friday.

A few local places in my area decided to make Small Business Saturday into a festive occasion complete with free activities for all ages. First I decided to go to Community Forklift and its two smaller off-shoot businesses that shares facilities with Community Forklift—Tanglewood Works and Decorative DeZign Interiors. They were all throwing one party for people to attend.

photo1

photo3

photo2

There was free hot cider along with live music provided by local musicians and lots of vintage items (including Christmas displays).

photo6

photo7

photo4

photo8

photo9

photo5

I took a free workshop that Community Forklift offered on how to make jewelry from old t-shirts. I have to admit that it was a pretty interesting session.

photo10

photo11

Here’s the bracelet I made for myself.

photo12

photo13

Once I was finished with the workshop, I decided to check out the two off-shoot businesses that share space with Community Forklift. Tanglewood Works is devoted to selling handcrafted items made by local artisans using recycled materials.

photo14

photo15

 DeZign Interiors is the newest of the Community Forklift off-shoots and it specializes in interior decorating using vintage recycled items. I have to admit that this store has all kinds of cool funky decor.

photo16

photo17

photo18

photo19

photo20

 After my visit, I went on to ReCreative Spaces, a relatively new artist space that recently opened in Mount Rainier, Maryland. The last time I was there was when I participated as a vendor in the Maker Fair that was held there during Labor Day weekend. This time I merely visited the place. There were a couple of vendor tables selling smaller crafts when I was there but there seemed to be more of an emphasis on selling the larger works of art made by the artists who currently live and/or work there, such as this painting in the next photo.

photo21

There was a free hands-on activity where visitors were encouraged to make a printed holiday greeting card using wood block stamps and ink.

photo22

photo23

The last photo in this post shows the card that I made that day.

photo24

