This year is the fifth anniversary of this blog. For the first year I was unsure about how many photos I could actually upload because of the free WordPress.com blogging account has a space limit. So I kept photo uploads limited to just my arts and crafts along with any photographs that I actually exhibited in a show. Over time I learned such things as graphic optimization so I was able to upload more photos that way than I thought I could. So for the rest of the year I’m going to devote Throwback Thursday to photos from previous blog entries (along with links to the original posts) that I should’ve uploaded five years earlier but I didn’t.

On October 2, 2010 my then-husband and I took part in the One Nation Working Together march in Washington, DC. It was organized by unions and other progressive groups to demand better jobs, immigration reform, and education reform. I took some of my political jewelry with me to sell there, which I announced in this blog on the day before this march.

I wrote about the march itself on October 3, 2010.  At the end of that blog post I mentioned that I shot photos and videos but I needed to edit them first. I would upload the video a full month later but I never got around to even taking a look at the pictures. I found a few of them but I could’ve sworn that I took more. I have a feeling I lost the bulk of them when my previous laptop’s hard disk crashed really bad a few years ago. Here are the photos that I do have from that march. As I look at what’s written on these signs, I noticed that these are still the same issues that people are fighting for and they are the main reason why Bernie Sanders is getting more popular as a presidential candidate each day.

photo1

photo2

photo3

photo4

photo5

photo6

photo7

This last photo is especially poignant. My then-husband asked me to take a close-up of his shirt, which was plastered with two stickers that he got for free from fellow marchers. The t-shirt is from the U.S. Navy submarine U.S.S. New Hampshire SSN 778, which was the submarine that his nephew was serving on at the time. A little over a year after I took that photo, my husband would suddenly walk out on me. We are now divorced and no longer speaking to each other.

photo8

