Once again I was in Bethesda for business reasons and I had to be there at the crack of dawn. By the time my work ended for the day it was still morning. It was also a warm beautiful fall day so I gave in to temptation and drove around the area.

The place where I’m currently working one morning a week is located near Glen Echo Park. Even though that park ranks among my favorite parks in the DC area, I hadn’t been there in over a year so I thought seeing what the place looks like in the fall was the perfect reason for me to check it out. I wasn’t disappointed. The whole place abounded in color between the clear blue sky, the fall foliage, and other fall touches placed throughout the park (such as pumpkins).

photo1

photo2

photo3

photo4

photo5

photo6

photo7

photo8

photo9

photo10

photo11

photo12

photo13

photo14

photo15

photo16

photo17

After walking around for a while I decided to head home. I also decided to check out a few other places I saw mentioned on the Roadside America website. I had already exhausted all of the off-beat Bethesda attractions that the website mentioned so I decided to focus on the ones in Kensington mainly because I was going to drive past the Kensington exits on the Capital Beltway on the way home anyway so I figured that I might as well check them out while I was in the area.

First I checked out this Easter Island statue that’s literally located at a gas station. Seriously! The biggest hassle was that the statue was standing in direct sunlight so you’ll definitely see a lot of sun rays in one of the photos. On top of it, the statue is currently in serious need of repair work because it’s damaged on one side. But it’s still a hoot to check out in person.

photo18

photo19

photo20

photo21

photo22

Located near that gas station is another attraction mentioned in the Roadside America website but it’s one that most DC area residents are well familiar with, especially if they commute on the west side of the Capital Beltway on a regular basis. I’m talking about the Mormon Temple, which is this huge massive structure that looks like what would happen if someone had taken the Emerald City from The Wizard of Oz movie, painted it white, then add a statue of the Angel Moroni playing his horn on top of one of the spires. I have to admit that the Mormon Temple looks very impressive when viewing it from the parking lot. But I also have to admit that the surrounding fall foliage definitely stands out even more than the temple itself at this time of the year.

photo23

photo24

photo25

photo26

photo27

Entering the Mormon Temple itself is off-limits to non-Mormons but there is a Visitor’s Center nearby where non-Mormons can go where they can learn about the temple itself and the Mormon religion in general. The Visitor’s Center is way smaller than the temple and it pales in comparison with that huge structure. I went there a few years ago and, well, I didn’t feel the need to revisit it on this trip. I was also feeling a bit tired so I just decided to call it a day and head home.

