I recently made a trip to Bethesda, Maryland for business reasons (which I can’t really go into right now). Once my obligation ended for the day, I decided to spend my free time doing something fun that was located in the area. I consulted the Roadside America website and I found this incredibly unique home that’s really amazing to behold in person.

This home is located in a very upscale neighborhood in Bethesda. You find yourself going down a street that’s full of large expensive looking homes that are of the kind that you’d normally find in an upscale neighborhood. But then you come across this.

photo1

It’s a house that looks like it would be more appropriate for a village in Middle Earth from J.R.R. Tolkien’s novels than in an upscale Washington, DC area suburban neighborhood like Bethesda.

photo2

The locals call it the Mushroom House, which is appropriate considering the fact that the roof bares a vague resemblance to the top of a mushroom.

photo3

The entrance way is very cavernous.

photo4

I half expect Bilbo Baggins to emerge from behind that door in the next photo.

photo5

The walkway leading to the front door is actually a wooden boardwalk.

photo6

This is the most decorative power meter that I’ve ever seen.

photo7

The front door area is so imaginative and whimsical.

photo8

photo9

photo10

Everywhere you look there seems to be little surprises, such as what I found in a corner of this walkway.

photo11

photo12

photo13

photo14

photo15

photo16

photo17

photo18

photo19

photo20

I found myself wishing that I could see the inside of that place but it’s a private home and I don’t know the owner. So I did the next best thing and did an online search. I found that this house was sold to a new owner just a few months ago but Zillow.com still has the interior photos of the place posted online. It looks just as amazing on the inside as on the outside. Imagine living in a home that looks like it came straight from an illustration that accompany a fairy tale. Better yet, imagine being a child growing up in such a house like that.

