Commuting to Dupont Circle on a Sunday afternoon was way more pleasant than it was at the last DC Dr. Sktechy’s event back in July (where it was very hot and very humid). For this time around, I was able to walk around more outside because it was a very pleasant day. Even though it was a bit on the cloudy side, it was still one of those perfect weather days where it wasn’t too hot or too cold. As a result, I was able to do some leisurely walking around outside while I took a few photos.

While I was waiting for the subway train at the Greenbelt Metro Station, I saw a woman wear this outfit. I took a photo of her and I posted it on Facebook. One of my Facebook friends told me that she was probably either going to or from Baltimore Comic-Con, which was being held that weekend. (I’ve been to Baltimore Comic-Con other years but the last time I went was two years ago. I skipped last year because of tight finances. I skipped this year because, well, I basically forgot about it until it was too late because I had already made other plans that weekend. Well, there’s always next year. LOL!)

photo1

Here is the fountain in the middle of Dupont Circle.

photo2

Here’s a wheat pasted sign announcing Pope Francis’ visit to Washington, DC just a few days earlier. I didn’t take the opportunity to see the Pope during his time in DC because I knew that it was going to be crowded as all hell and I just didn’t want to deal with it. (One of my friends from my church happened to be in DC during the time when the Pope was traveling on the streets and he got a clear shot of Pope Francis, which he then uploaded on to Facebook. He was lucky that day. LOL!)

photo3

I arrived to Dupont Circle a little early because I wanted to check out yet another nearby landmark that’s mentioned on Roadside America.com’s website. It’s located outside a restaurant known as the Russia House.

photo4

photo5

photo6

photo7

The main reason why this place is mentioned on Roadside America is because of this interesting bust of Andrei Sakharov, a nuclear physicist who was known as the father of the Soviet nuclear program but he later became a Soviet dissident who was a human rights activist against nuclear proliferation. He won the Nobel Peace Prize for his activities.

photo8

He looks like he is either under a lot of stress or he has a major migraine coming on and he’s rubbing his temples with his fingers for relief.

photo9

photo10

The bust stands on top of this tall pole that’s planted in the ground that’s below street-level.

photo11

Here’s a shot of Sakharov looking out over Connecticut Avenue, N.W. (or if he would be looking at that street if his eyes weren’t sculpted shut).

photo12

Located a few doors down from the Russia House is something that’s not even listed on Roadside America but I think it’s worth noting anyway since it involves another bust of a famous figure that’s roughly the same dimensions as the Sakharov bust. Near the Russia House is the Argentinian Embassy.

photo13

Near the entrance to that embassy is a gold bust of General Manuel Belgrano, who was one of the heroes of the Argentine Wars of Independence from Spain and who also created the Argentine flag.

photo14

I took a few general photos of the Dupont Circle area going to and from the Russia House.

photo15

photo16

photo17

I took a slightly different route to the Bier Baron, where I came upon another memorial statue that wasn’t mentioned on the Roadside America site. This one was dedicated to Tomáš Garrigue Masaryk, who was the first President of Czechoslovakia from 1918-1935.

photo18

photo19

I’ll admit that this memorial resonated personally with me because one of my ancestors, Anton Znamonascek, immigrated to the United States from Prague, which was located in the Czech state of Bohemia and was part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire. After that empire was dissolved following World War I, Bohemia was merged with another Czech state, Moravia, and the Slavic state of Slovakia to form the nation of Czechoslovakia. After Masaryk’s death, Czechoslovakia would subsequently become invaded by the Nazis followed by being part of the Iron Curtain under the domination of the Soviet Union. When the Cold War ended, Czechoslovakia became independent once again only to fragment further into two separate countries—the Czech Republic and Slovakia. Masaryk is still revered in both nations as a symbol of democracy.

I eventually made it to the Bier Baron, where the first thing I did was take a photo of the stage before the event began.

photo20

After that photograph, I switched to pencil and paper since Dr. Sketchy’s is supposed to be a life-drawing session. The model for this session was burlesque performer Maria Bella of Gilded Lily Burlesque so most of the drawings in this post are definitely not safe for work or school.

picture1

picture2

picture3

picture4

After a short break, Maria Bella changed into this costume where she resembled legendary Guns N’ Roses guitarist Slash.

picture5

picture6

The one contest I participated in was one where we had to somehow incorporate the 1980’s. The prize was something that was a tie-in with the upcoming latest movie in the Star Wars franchise that’s scheduled to be released at the end of the year. Here’s my entry.

picture7

I decided to include Nancy Reagan wearing her signature red dress with her catchphrase “Just Say No” written on it. I was inspired by that illustration of Nancy Reagan I saw on this vintage Cyclone pinball machine the last time I visited Crabtowne USA.

photo58

Since the prize involved Star Wars, I decided to add Darth Vader (especially since the last two movies in the original trilogy were released in the 1980’s). I ended up winning that Star Wars prize. Here’s what I won from that contest.

photo21

It’s a Hot Wheels version of the Millennial Falcon from the Star Wars movies.

photo22

I have to admit that the tiny details are pretty amazing.

photo23

According to the packaging, the Millennial Falcon comes with a stand that one can either use to display on a flat surface or wear on a finger like a ring. (Or an oversized ring since the Millennial Falcon weighs pretty heavy on the hand compared to a regular ring.)

photo24

The only finger I can fit the stand on is my pinky. I think it’s because Hot Wheels are made for children and children’s fingers tend to be smaller than an adult’s. In any case, it’s still a pretty neat prize to have won.

After winning that contest, I did two more drawings of Maria Bella (wearing a different outfit) before the event ended.

picture8

picture9

It was a pretty fun event. In addition, the couple who runs the Baltimore Dr. Sketchy’s events arrived at the Bier Baron with their baby daughter, who’s totally adorable. (I didn’t get any pictures of the child so you’ll just have to take my word for it.) It was a pretty good day for me. 🙂

