This year is the fifth anniversary of this blog. For the first year I was unsure about how many photos I could actually upload because of the free WordPress.com blogging account has a space limit. So I kept photo uploads limited to just my arts and crafts along with any photographs that I actually exhibited in a show. Over time I learned such things as graphic optimization so I was able to upload more photos that way than I thought I could. So for the rest of the year I’m going to devote Throwback Thursday to photos from previous blog entries (along with links to the original posts) that I should’ve uploaded five years earlier but I didn’t.

Two months after I started this blog, my then-husband and I flew to Phoenix to attend my mother-in-law’s funeral. (She passed away suddenly after having a major stroke that left her so comatose that the doctors said that there were nothing they could do about her. The family authorized the doctors to disconnect her life support. She lived for another 24 hours after that until she died.) We flew back to Phoenix during Memorial Day weekend in order to look in on his newly widowed step-father, who was in sudden shock and grief over my mother-in-law’s unexpected passing. (She was relatively healthy until the last two weeks of her life when she initially suffered blood clots followed by a minor stroke followed by an even more severe stroke that ultimately killed her.) I didn’t carry a camera on either of those two trips for obvious reasons. (I also didn’t own a smartphone at that point. I had a flip-top cellphone at that time that didn’t have a camera.)

Soon after that second trip to Phoenix in 2010 was our wedding anniversary on June 8. The weekend before our anniversary we decided to spend a weekend in Baltimore. We stayed at the Hilton Hotel that’s located next door to Camden Yards. We originally talked about seeing the Baltimore Orioles play the Boston Red Sox but we ended not doing so in the end. We pretty much stayed in the Inner Harbor area the entire weekend. Here are some of the photos I took during that weekend.

June 5, 2010: My husband and I did some walking along the Inner Harbor where I saw these buff guys play beach volleyball despite the fact that it was very hot and humid plus it was also cloudy outside.

photo1

We initially went to the American Visionary Art Museum where I took these photos outside the building.

photo2

photo3

photo4

photo5

photo6

photo7

photo8

photo9

photo10

The museum didn’t allow photography inside its doors so there aren’t any photos from there other than what I was able to photograph outside of the building. After that visit we walked back along the Inner Harbor where I took these photos.

photo11

photo12

photo13

photo14

We stopped off at the National Aquarium, where I took these photos. (Yes, we took in a performing dolphin show while we were there.)

photo15

photo16

photo17

photo18

photo19

photo20

photo21

photo22

photo23

photo24

photo25

photo26

photo27

photo28

photo29

photo30

photo31

photo32

June 6, 2010: We finished our weekend in Baltimore by taking a 45-minute boat cruise around the Inner Harbor before driving home. Among the sites we saw were Fort McHenry (where the lyrics to the U.S. national anthem, The Star-Spangled Banner, were written by Francis Scott Key on a ship docked nearby during the War of 1812), the Domino Sugar factory, and the National Bohemian (a.k.a. Natty Boh) beer brewery. It was pretty heavily overcast that day but it was still very hot and humid outside.

photo33

photo34

photo35

photo36

photo37

photo38

photo39

photo40

You can read the original post that I wrote on June 6, 2010 right here.

