I made this brief trip soon after I finished working at the ReCreative Spaces’ Open House and Maker Fair mainly because this area was close to where I was selling my wares and it’s also on the route back to my home. I just felt that it warranted a separate post since it’s way different in subject matter from the ReCreative Spaces event.

A few weeks ago I went on this walking tour through Bladensburg, Colmar Manor, and Cottage City that was recommended on my Droid smartphone app called the Chesapeake Explorer. Once I had left Bladensburg Waterfront Park and walked up to the intersection with Bladensburg Road (Route 450), the app urged me to turn left and walk towards Colman Manor and Cottage City.

Curiously, had I turned right at the intersection, I would’ve found a couple of other Battle of Bladensburg related spots that were both located just a block or so away from the main path. One of them was a new War of 1812 memorial that was unveiled just a few years ago (just in time for the War of 1812 Bicentennial). Yet the app opted not to include either one of them on the walking tour.

I’ve driven past both places numerous times and I was about to pass them again as I was on my way back from the ReCreative Spaces event. This time I decided to make a brief stop and look at them. Traffic wasn’t too bad mainly because it was the Sunday during the Labor Day holiday weekend.

I parked near this neat looking old building that I have passed numerous times. When I finally got a chance to see it on foot, I saw that it was once the site of an old tavern known as the Indian Queen. It’s also known alternatively as George Washington House because George Washington allegedly slept there at the Indian Queen Tavern. Looking online I found that it has its own Wikipedia page. There’s a blog post that has all kinds of interesting facts about the Indian Queen Tavern through the years. And this link has both the myths and facts about the Indian Queen Tavern and George Washington’s association with it (or lack thereof).

Outside the Indian Queen Tavern is this sign explaining about the archaeological finds that were made either at or near the tavern.

photo1

Today one can’t stop for a meal at the Indian Queen Tavern because it now houses the Anacostia Watershed Society. The exterior still looks pretty impressive.

photo2

photo3

photo4

The sign in the next photo shows the reason why this place is also known as George Washington House.

photo5

Near the Indian Queen Tavern is this marker designating the area as being part of the Star-Spangled Banner Trail while explaining the British advance during the Battle of Bladensburg.

photo6

Located next to the Indian Queen Tavern is this park that has the relatively new memorial dedicated to the Battle of Bladensberg.

photo7

One side provides details about the battle and the prominent people involved.

photo8

photo9

The other side provides this nice relief of a few soldiers defending Bladensburg against the invading British Army with the words “Undaunted in Battle.”

photo10

photo11

On a pleasant day it would be a great place to read a book (there are benches nearby) or do some reflection of the history of this area. I didn’t stay long that day because the heat had gone up to 95 degrees Fahrenheit with high humidity. Even though it was late in the afternoon, it was still way too hot to spend much time there.

