This year I not only attended the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival in Greenbelt, Maryland but I also submitted one of my recent watercolors to the Art Show. The one big condition for submitting a work to the Art Show is that all submitters must work a volunteer shift at that show. I signed up for the 1-2 p.m. shift on Saturday (September 5) so I arrived to the festival a little bit early so I can eat lunch (I ended up eating a bratwurst in a thick roll with sauerkraut) and do some browsing before it was time for my shift. Here are a few initial photos I took when I first arrived.

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival.

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

I eventually made it to the Greenbelt Community Center, where the Art Show was located. I found this interesting holiday-themed display as well.

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015For the first time ever, the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival strived to become something called a “Zero Waste” event where people were encouraged to bring their own water bottles instead of buying bottled water from a store as well as throwing anything that can be composted or recycled into the appropriate bins. This next photo shows one of the free places where people can refill their water bottles.

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

I arrived just in time to begin serving my one-hour volunteer shift where I basically kept count of the number of people who attended the Art Show and make sure there were no commotions or anything like that. The next photo shows the Butterfly watercolor that I submitted. It didn’t win any ribbons this time around but I don’t mind. (To learn more about the creation of this piece, read my August 23, 2015 post.)

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

Once I finished my shift, I did some more walking around at the festival while taking some pictures.

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

I browsed the annual Used Book Sale that’s sponsored by the Greenbelt Elementary School PTA. I found this item that belongs in a museum: a vintage Nintendo Game Boy in its original box. It’s the gaming system that had the yucky yellow back screen and 8-bit graphics in only one color—black.

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

The Used Book Sale also had this cool cardboard cutout.

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

This particular day was known as “Community Day” where various local organizations and businesses had tables set up where they provided free literature and other types of information to the general public.

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

Community Day at the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

Community Day at the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

A preview of the new Makerspace 125 float that would appear in the Greenbelt Labor Day Parade two days later.

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 25, 2015

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

I brought my laptop with me so I spent some downtime alternating between doing some miscellaneous web surfing and uploading the photos I took with my smartphone on to the various social media sites. At one point I looked up from the table I was sitting at on the patio outside Makerspace 125 and I saw my ex-husband lumbering around the festival area at a distance from where I was sitting. I wasn’t that inclined to walk over to him and say “Hi.” He wasn’t in the area very long before he left so it was no big deal. The only downer was that the weather was in the high 80’s with high humidity but I found that as long as I stayed in the shade, I was fine for sitting outside.

At one point I had to use the bathroom inside of Makerspace 125 and when I went in, there was a woman who took one look at me and said “Hey, I remember you.” It took me several minutes before I realizes who she was. She was someone whom I haven’t seen in at least 15 years. I was amazed that she recognized me because I didn’t initially recognize her. We didn’t chat long because she said that she had to get going. She asked for my email address and I gave it to her. She said that she would email me but, as of this writing, she has yet done so. I foolishly didn’t think of asking for her email so I’m not able to send a message saying “Hey, it was great seeing you once again.” (At least meeting that person was way more pleasant than the time when I unexpectedly met some people from my childhood whom I would prefer not to have anything to do with at Artscape in Baltimore last summer.)

I ate a crab pretzel for dinner (which was sinfully delicious) then I killed some more time doing some web surfing on my laptop and uploading some recent pictures on to various social media sites. I decided to hang around until past sunset so I could take some night photos.

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015.

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015/At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

At the Greenbelt Labor Day Festival, September 5, 2015

