In the fall of 2002 I was taking a digital imaging class at a local community college and I did an assignment of a anthropomorphic guitar couple snuggling against each other in the moonlight. (I was inspired by the classic Walt Disney short Music Land.) She was the head of the Art Department and she knew that I had taken a computer animation class at the same school (with a different instructor) the semester before. She suggested that I tried making a short Flash animation out of it so I did and Guitar Love: The Musical was the result. I basically did a simple animation and I added some guitar riff excerpts from Led Zeppelin’s “Stairway to Heaven,” Bob Marley’s “Redemption Songs,” and Staind “Outside.”

My teacher was also the faculty advisor for the Student Art League and our class was required to make at least one submission to that show as part of our final grade for the class. It turned out that there was a shortage of Flash animation submissions for that semester so my teacher asked me if I would be willing to submit not only Guitar Love: The Musical but any older Flash animations I did the previous semester. (I ended up submitting The Dancing Monkeys along with Guitar Love: The Musical.)

Both of my animations were accepted and there was a reception that was planned about a week or two into the show. My then-husband wasn’t able to go to that reception because he was doing something else that night. (I think he was either returning from an out-of-town business trip or he was involved with some committee at our church and he was needed there.) Ironically I got word that Guitar Love: The Musical had won the third place award in the Best Animation and Multimedia category and I remembered my husband feeling bad that he couldn’t make it to the school so he could see me pick up my award (which was basically a certificate that was printed on one of the school’s printers using nice paper). In any case I was thrilled that my simple animation had won.

I managed to convert this Flash animation to .mp4 and I remastered it in HD. So, without further ado, here is Guitar Love: The Musical.

