I went to yet another session of Dr. Sketchy’s Anti-Art School that was held at The Wind-Up Space in Baltimore. Even though the days are still longer, the weather had become the typical August weather in the Mid-Atlantic Region: hot and humid alternating with rain so I didn’t do much walking around the Station North Arts District this time around. I managed to take just a few photos on my way to The Wind-Up Space.

I saw a sign posted that announced a DIY Festival that will happen in this area in October and they are looking for participants.

photo1

Someone had recently put up this really cool looking outside bench in the area between Red Emma’s and Liam Flynn’s Ale House on West North Street.

photo2

In the space next to The Wind-Up Space is this sign announcing a potentially interesting looking storefront that’s opened only on the weekends. I may have an incentive to go back to the Station North Arts District on days other than when The Wind-Up Space is having a Dr. Sketchy’s event.

photo3

Once I was inside The Wind-Up Space I took only two more photos. One was a postcard announcing that The Wind-Up Space is hosting a Drink and Draw event on the first Wednesday of the month. It may be something for me to keep in mind in case I have a need to visit The Wind-Up Space for events other than Dr. Sketchy’s.

photo4

I also saw this interesting looking leopard couch that was in a storage area right next to the stage and near the restrooms. That couch would later be used during the Dr. Sketchy’s event.

photo5

For the rest of the evening I switched to paper and pencil since photographing the model at a Dr. Sketchy’s event is a definite no-no. The model for this event was Sophia Sunday of Gilded Lily Burlesque. Since she is a burlesque performer, most of the drawings in this post are definitely not safe for work or school.

picture1

picture2

picture3

picture4

picture5

picture6

picture7

picture8

picture9

One of the contests I took part in that evening was one where we had to incorporate the board game Monopoly because it was the anniversary of the day that the game was first released to the general public by Parker Brothers. I drew a scenario where Sophia Sunday was sitting in the spare tire that’s located on the back of the car in the Free Parking space while Mr. Moneybags is ogling her through the back windshield. That drawing didn’t make it to the finals.

picture10

At one point the really cool leopard sofa that I photographed earlier in the evening was brought up on stage and I drew this picture of Sophia Sunday lounging in it.

picture11

I took part in the last contest of the evening. Sophia Sunday was in the process of moving away from Baltimore and her participation in Dr. Sketchy’s was the last event before she moved away. The contest theme was imagining where Sophia was going to go next. I pictured a scenario where she simply moved 30 miles south to Washington, DC after she made history as not only the first woman candidate but also the first burlesque performer to hold the nation’s highest office. (Yeah, I know it sounds ludicrous but I’m old enough to remember a time when people used to laugh at the idea that a Hollywood B-movie actor would be elected president until Ronald Reagan prevailed in 1980.) As the caption reads: “President Sophia Sunday’s First Day in the Oval Office.” That drawing failed to make it to the finals.

picture12

That contest was the last pose that Sophia Sunday did for the evening. It was raining as I was driving home but it wasn’t too bad. I’ve driven in worse weather on Dr. Sketchy’s night in Baltimore so I had no complaints at all.

