Last week I wrote about how I took a computer animation class where I learned Adobe Flash, which was THE animation standard at the time but is now falling out of favor as people are increasingly switching to using HTML5 for computer animation. (Although I found this recent article about how many large websites like Major League Baseball, NBC, BBC, HBO, Pandora, and Spotify are still clinging to Flash despite its decline into obsolescence.)

During that class we had an assignment where we had to take a major work of art and make a short animation out of it. I chose Salvador Dali’s Apparition of Face and Fruit Dish on a Beach. I was inspired by Terry Gilliam’s animations he did for Monty Python’s Flying Circus. I remember those animations were surreal yet were pretty humorous. (You can see one example of his Monty Python work right here.) I got an “A” for this project.

So, without further ado, here is my animation of Salvador Dali’s Apparition of Face and Fruit Dish on a Beach.

