I was on my way to Crofton to attend my weekly support group meeting for people who are separated or divorced when I decided to try something different. I made a diversion into the historic section of Bowie. I haven’t been to that area in quite a while so I decided to just check it out for the heck of it.

First I went to the Bowie Railroad Museum. Unfortunately for me I arrived close to the museum’s closing time so I just took pictures of outside of the building instead.

photo1

The museum was once a train station and trains still run past this station. (The official Bowie station has since been relocated to nearby Bowie State University.) The structure in the next few photos was once a train caboose that has been converted to a covered outdoor bench structure.

photo2

photo3

photo4

Here’s a shot through the window inside the structure. As you can see, it’s not a very large museum. But I still want to check it out at another time when it’s open.

photo5

A couple of benches are provided in the back of the museum for railroad enthusiasts who want to just sit a while watching the trains go by.

photo7

Historic Bowie consists mostly of historic buildings, many of which have been converted to antique stores.

photo8

This white painted structure called Huntington House is mostly boarded up. There’s a faded sign that denotes “NABF” and “8520” (the latter is the number of the address that this building is located) while the bottom of that sign has faded lettering that reads “The Oldest Sandlot Organization in America Offering [illegible word] Since 1914.”

photo9

Most of the shops were either closed or close to being closed with one major exception—Fabian House.

photo10

Fabian House is a historic Victorian-style structure that’s home to a local ice cream shop known as Simple Pleasures Ice Cream, where the ice cream is made on the premises. I’ve seen Simple Pleasures have its cart at the various local farmers markets and I’ve eaten their ice cream cones numerous times. It’s the first time I’ve visited the actual shop itself.

photo11

photo12

photo13

In addition to the ice cream shop, Fabian House is also an antique store and it even sells recent art by area artisans. The entire two-story structure is such a treat to explore with the ice cream shop on the lower level for anyone wanting to take a break from shopping.

photo14

photo15

photo16

photo17

photo18

photo19

photo20

photo21

photo22

photo23

photo24

photo25

photo26

photo27

photo28

photo29

photo30

photo31

photo32

photo33

photo34

photo35

photo36

photo37

photo38

photo39

photo40

photo41

photo42

photo43

photo44

